Whats the point of the facetime button during a call?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by thinkadam, Aug 9, 2012.

  1. thinkadam macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    When on a call, and you look at the screen...
    You get 6 buttons...speaker, mute...etc.. the bottom middle is facetime.
    What does this do? I tried a few times with no results..it just attempted to facetime the person I was already on with..

    Anyone know?

    thanks?
     
  2. willmtaylor macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #2
    It's pretty simple: it lets you FaceTime the person you're talking to. What's there to misunderstand?

    Apple's Website
     
  3. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3
    When you're on a call you can then switch the regural call to a facetime video call.
    Obviously the other person will also have to have a compatible Apple device that can do facetime.
     
  4. newyorksole macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    New York.
    #4
    Question, will FaceTime over Cellular only work with devices that are running iOS 6?
     
  5. willmtaylor macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #5
    Correct. It's not available on iOS 5. Right now though, everyone is waiting to see how it's going to play out with the carriers and their data charges when iOSA 6 officially launches (Sept. 12-21).
     
  6. newyorksole macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    New York.
    #6
    Omg I can already foresee AT&T bitching about iPhone users using FaceTime over 4G/LTE smh.
     
  7. RocketRed macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    #7
    They won't bitch about it. They're just going to charge you not just for data, but for including Facetime feature in iOS 6. Don't want to pay? You don't get Facetime over cellular network. They can easily block it with an OTA update.

    It's AT&T. Maximum profits.
     
  8. saintforlife macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    #8
    Think, Adam...
     

Share This Page