What's the preferred RESET method without lost to apps?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by ET iPhone Home, Jul 15, 2012.

1. ET iPhone Home macrumors 68040

ET iPhone Home

I have a 2011 MBA (my first Apple product). I've reset this as new a couple times. But I'm curious, now that I have Office for Mac installed (fully purchased with license - 1 license/1user), what's the best method of resetting the MBA without losing Office for Mac and other future installed programs?

Has anyone experience Microsoft allowing to re-dowload Office provided you can provide them a license?

THANKS!!!

2. MacBird macrumors 6502

If you have a Time Machine backup, Office and other programs will be installed after the clean install (is this what you mean by resetting?) and importing all programs and settings. When I did this the last time, Office worked right away.

3. kodeman53 macrumors 65816

4. ET iPhone Home thread starter macrumors 68040

ET iPhone Home

My apologies, Restore as new without loosing any installed applications.

(I was over at the iPhone forum inquiring about iPhone reset. Did not mean to use "reset" to ask my question here about restoring.)

----------

Sorry, I meant RESTORE.

5. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

Why are you restoring your Mac? Many do this when it isn't required. What are you trying to accomplish by restoring your Mac?

6. kodeman53 macrumors 65816

If you do a full restore from a TM backup, all you will have to do is enter the Office activation code upon first start up.

7. MacBird macrumors 6502

Last time I did not even have to enter the key for Office.

8. ET iPhone Home thread starter macrumors 68040

ET iPhone Home