What's the true AirPrint story?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by TheGrudge, Nov 11, 2010.

1. TheGrudge macrumors member

TheGrudge

I've been scouring this forum and various tech websites for a few days now. There are rumors flying around about AirPrint being cancelled, not being cancelled (as per SJ himself), working with iTunes open, not working with iTunes open, working if you modify a few files in Leopard...and so on.

All I know is I have an iPad running iOS 4.2 (I'm a dev), with Snow Leopard 10.6.5, and the beta version of the next iTunes -- and AirPrint displays "No Printer Found" when I try to print from an application. My printer is connected to my iMac and printer sharing is ON.

So - should this be working or not?

2. MRU macrumors demi-god

MRU

Essentially AirPrint will work to newer AirPrint certified HP Wireless Printers.

They for some reason decided to remove AirPrint for 'shared' printers on Mac 10.6.5

You can add the functionality back into 10.6.5 with a simple hack
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=11401113#post11401113

No-one can at this stage say if the Official Release of 4.2 will be different to the GM version and that you wont need this hack and all will be well - however it seems unlikely.

3. azentropy macrumors 68000

azentropy

It is possible that Apple just decided to split the AirPrint/Printer Sharing functionality into its own update rather than have it part of the 10.6.5 update. Maybe that update will come out the same time 4.2 is released to the public.

Might even bring 10.5 compatibility.

4. djmodifyd macrumors regular

I'm thinking it might be like the windows version and be an option you enable through itunes.

Works perfectly with my printer shared via windows 7. Maybe itunes 10.1 for mac will have this option?

5. imacken macrumors 65816

As I'm sure you know, Airprint functionality in Windows comes from iTunes.
    I wonder if Apple will work it the same way now in OS X.