Whats verizon's equivalent of EDGE?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by diegoesk, Feb 25, 2011.

  1. diegoesk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    #1
    On the ATT iphone, I was able to switch from 3G to Edge just by toggling a button in the options menu.

    Now with the vIphone I don't see such options.

    What is the EDGE equivalent on vIphone?

    Can this EDGE equivalent be accessed in the options?
     
  2. dwguertin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_6 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8E200 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Some would say that, all we have is edge. We are in the slow lane.
     
  3. diegoesk thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    #3
    Speak for yourself. I've had My vIphone since launce and it is just as fast as my ATT iphone. better battery life and I have service to boot.


    Does anyone know verizon's equivalent of the EDGE network?
     
  4. dwguertin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_6 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8E200 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Im going by all the posts on this site. It works ok for me.

    I don't see a way to change it manually to what the iPhone displays as "0".
     
  5. Jordan921 macrumors 68040

    Jordan921

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #5
    Why would you even care about edge if you are getting 3g service?
     
  6. scott craft macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #6
    I don't know how it does on the iphone, but on my droid when it loses 3G it goes to 1X.
     
  7. EvilEvil macrumors 6502

    EvilEvil

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    New York City
    #7
    3G or nothing. Edge is just AT&T's excuse for not having 3G coverage in your area.
     
  8. Bswartz95 macrumors 6502

    Bswartz95

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #8
    Yep. When 3g is not available, iPhone does the same, except instead of showing "1X", there is just a "o" in the status bar.
     
  9. thetexan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    #9
    It's called 1XRtt and it appears on a Verizon iPhone as a circle instead of a 3G symbol.

    Verizon's 3G is considerably faster than AT&T's EDGE. There's some lies on this forum that EDGE on AT&T is as fast as Verizon's 3G but that's just lies.

    Edit: Verizon's native network is 99% 3G, though there are a few very rural Verizon towers that are still 1x. I'm pretty sure if you are roaming on Sprint you will drop to 1x as well.
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  11. mrbrown macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Location:
    Ozark, Missouri
    #11
    As others have said, there is no equivalent to EDGE on Verizon.

    If 3G isn't available, it drops down to 1XRTT, the Verizon equivalent of GPRS.
     
  12. kdarling, Feb 25, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2011

    kdarling macrumors demi-god

    kdarling

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Location:
    Cabin by a lake
    #12
    Back when CDMA 3G first came out and was rare, some phones did have a way to turn off looking for the EVDO 3G signal, to save power. Not much need for that nowadays in the USA, as Verizon pretty much has 3G everywhere it has towers.

    ATT and a lot of the world have gaps in UMTS-3G coverage, so an off switch still makes sense in its case.

    .
     
  13. NathanA macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #13
    The "off" switch on the UMTS iPhone makes more sense, I think, not because of the gaps in service (the phone automatically switches back and forth anyway), but because you can nearly double your talk time by using EDGE instead of 3G.

    So I wonder if the savings in power between 1XRTT and EVDO (which are both CDMA-based) are not as drastic as between GPRS/EDGE (TDMA) and UMTS (CDMA), and thus it might make little-to-no sense to add a switch to disable EVDO.

    -- Nathan
     
  14. Dandrews524 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #14
    if you go into settings>general>network and turn off cellular data, this turns off 3g data but still enables you to make and receive calls along with sms messages. making it a lot like turning off 3g on your at&t iphone
     

Share This Page