What's your iOS 4.1 speed using updated SpeedTest.net app?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by asleep, Sep 18, 2010.

  1. asleep macrumors 68040

    asleep

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #1
    iPhone 4/iOS 4.1 using the updated SpeedTest.net app:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Martinsalas310 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Location:
    Nampa, idaho
  3. chembox macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
  4. asleep thread starter macrumors 68040

    asleep

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #4
    Awww, c'mon! :p

    Certainly no improvement here:
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Irish Rose macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

    I don\'t like the updated version and ended up deleting it, and using the old version again. Reason being, it would not recognize my nearest location unless I was using a WiFi connection. Every time I would close the WiFi connection, and switch to 3G to do the test, it kept listing my area as being Kansas, instead of Philadelphia as it should be. When I tried to change my location in the settings, it only gives me areas that are closest to Kansas..... I\'m going to keep using the older version of speedtest.net. until this is fixed.
     
  6. Aaron1021 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    my speeds are still the same. what kind of wireless router are you using?
     
  7. asleep thread starter macrumors 68040

    asleep

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #7
    DLink 655/Comcast -- for first post.
     
  8. localboy28 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #8
    After the test is finished drag the speediest dial downwards

    See what you see .....
     
  9. Bandolier macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    #9
    What the hell is wrong with you? That's like challenging someone to a foot race then getting into a car.
     
  10. tablo13 macrumors 65816

    tablo13

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    #10
    Weird, I only get 3mbps on my iPod touch even though I get about 15mbps on a computer, which is the advertised speed. :confused:
    EDIT: apparently it's the server... I got 15mbps on a server in Burnaby even though I live in Edmonton.
     
  11. charliehustle macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
  12. dread macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #12
    I'm still on 4.01 but I only get 3-6 mbs when my computer gets 15-22. I use a zyxel router and adjusted about every setting to get it up to those speeds. My iPad and wife's iPhone are the same. I hope apple fixes what is clearly a software issue.
     
  13. TB07-NJ macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    US of A
    #13
    Crazy variation on 3G. WiFi is right on. I'm on 15/5 Fios.

    Edit: Sorry, you were looking for 4.1. This was 4.01.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. asleep thread starter macrumors 68040

    asleep

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #15
    HA!

    Kitty, kitty, kitty!
     
  15. tablo13 macrumors 65816

    tablo13

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    #16
    Try a different test server. I had that issue too.
     
  16. Irish Rose macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    #17
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

    This is the old version of the speedtest.net app., not the updated version. ;)
     
  17. DeepIn2U macrumors 68040

    DeepIn2U

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #18
    Good speeds there fellow Canadian. Our networks were done right.

    Irish good call. I was wondering how such high data rates wig such a high ping over 300ms.

    Here's mine. I'm onRogers wireless.

    Test Date: 19 September, 2010 8:02 PM
    Connection Type: Cellular
    Server: Markham, ON
    Download: 5.18 Mbps
    Upload: 2.27 Mbps
    Ping: 140 ms

    External IP: 24.114.232.38
    Internal IP: 10.142.18.136
    Latitude: 43.6597
    Longitude: -79.4506

    A detailed image for this result can be found here:

    [​IMG]
     
  18. tugger macrumors regular

    tugger

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Location:
    KTLH
    #19
    iOS 4.1

    3G test: Eastern Montgomery County, PA - 3 bars

    WiFi test: @ home, Comcast Cable with Netgear WNDR3700 dual-band router. iPhone on dedicated 2.4GHz band. iOS 4.1.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Aaron1021 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #20
    My download speeds on wifi usually range between 4-6 Mbps. Could it be because I'm using an ancient wireless-b router?
     
  20. realeric macrumors 6502a

    realeric

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    United States
    #22
    iOS 4.1, WiFi n. (30Mbps download, 2Mbps upload / notebook)
     

    Attached Files:

  21. Absolem macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    #23
    o god
     
  22. TITNTUFF macrumors regular

    TITNTUFF

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Location:
    West Louisiana
    #24
    Wikipedia definition

    Ping is a computer network administration utility used to test the reachability of a host on an Internet Protocol (IP) network and to measure the round-trip time for messages sent from the originating host to a destination computer. The name comes from active sonar terminology.

    No such thing as a dumb question if you really don't know.;)
     
  23. alent1234 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #25

    that's because AT&T's internet gateway for it's wireless service is just northeast of Wichita
     

Share This Page