Whats your MAX World of Warcraft FPS???

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by GotPro, Mar 7, 2008.

  1. GotPro macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    #1
    I know, it's useless... but it gets me excited.

    Was playing WOW earlier... and started a new character... and... inside the castle... I got up to 491.8 FPS!!!

    What is everyone's MAX FPS they have seen in WOW?

    :)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Jonny427 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #2
    What were your settings? I'm sure I could top 500fps if i set everything to low and 640x480 :D

    My normal max settings at 1920x1200 are 30-60fps during heavy raiding, its beautiful :)
     
  3. GotPro thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    #3
    Sorry, should have included them!

    1680x1050, FSAA x 1, Most settings on Medium!
     
  4. cohibadad macrumors 6502a

    cohibadad

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #4
    above 1000 fps you become part of the matrix. I advise against it.
     
  5. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #5
    I'm sure if you looked around you could find a place with a very bland wall and hardly any lighting and your FPS would go way way up. Max FPS means very little. That and most LCDs I've used refresh 60 times per second so isn't more than 60 FPS just... wasted?
     
  6. sturob macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #6
    Yeah yeah yeah, I'm a n00b.

    Where do you set WoW to give you FPS?

    I can report back with mine. I've been playing with 1920x1200, I think, with everything maxed and it looks great.

    Stuart
     
  7. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #7
    Just press control-R and you're set.

    I usually get 55 FPS outdoors with 1680x1050 resolution, 24-bit FSAAx1, and most settings on high.
     
  8. sturob macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #8
    You're probably right IF they're in sync. I would imagine that a higher frame rate might allow for a lack of synchronization between the monitor and video card.

    There's a way to sync them (via that VSYNC mode), isn't there?

    Oh, wait, that's complicated. I just went to Google, fount of all knowledge, and found this.

    Stuart
     
  9. Lord Zedd macrumors 6502a

    Lord Zedd

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #9
    I bet I could get 500fps looking at a blank wall too. A test like that is totally useless for benchmarking performance.
     
  10. Razmo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #10
    More important - what is your min fps in a 25 man raid?
     
  11. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #11
    GZ getting 500 fps while looking at a wall. I bet a macbook could get that : )
     
  12. chinarider macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    #12
    Excellent point.....
     
  13. Senor360 macrumors regular

    Senor360

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    #13
    Average fps..

    I'm running 1900x1200 with every setting set to max. I average 30 fps outside, no matter what's going on. 22 when flying from town to town for some reason, and 60+ when inside buildings.
     
  14. GotPro thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    #14
    not a clue! I just started playing... LOL and no... My old MacBook couldnt... Never could get above 20fps with same settings no matter WHERE I was... Which is why I never played LOL

    And yes... I know its completely pointless... Still love a machine this powerful LOL
     
  15. Jonny427 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #15
    A good indication of min FPS would be Hyjal trash. I bottom out at about 20fps there with 1920x1200, 2xAA, and Max Settings.
     

Share This Page