when connected to wifi...

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Mad Mac Maniac, Jul 28, 2008.

  1. Mad Mac Maniac macrumors 601

    Mad Mac Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    A little bit of here and a little bit of there.
    #1
    should the little edge/3g icon change to that little radar pulse looking thing? Because sometimes it changes to that but a lot of the time it goes back to the 3g symbol. So am I on wifi or 3g? Thanks!

    In my setting it looks like I'm connected to wifi
     
  2. FaustArp macrumors regular

    FaustArp

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #2
    your probably 3G enabled but you are within reach of a wifi network that it connects to. Mine does the same thing
     
  3. Mad Mac Maniac thread starter macrumors 601

    Mad Mac Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    A little bit of here and a little bit of there.
    #3
    but does that mean I'm not on the wifi? I want to be and I've entered the password and everything before

    I just did a test. I disabled my 3g and then it changed to edge and went super slow...
     
  4. snook911 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    #4
    well I think when you see the 3G symbol you have lost the wifi connection. Mine does this sometimes but it always switches back to the wifi symbol within a couple of seconds.
     
  5. Mad Mac Maniac thread starter macrumors 601

    Mad Mac Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    A little bit of here and a little bit of there.
    #5
    Hmm yea mine shows wifi for like three seconds and then it switches to 3g... I'm using a college wifi. I'm pretty sure at home my wifi usually goes in and out but it doesn't seem to work at all here
     
  6. Auzburner macrumors 65816

    Auzburner

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY - USA
    #6
    My Netgear Max router does the same.(also have AirPort Extreme N for everything else) Every 24 hours it must be restarted because when one attempts to connect to it with an iPhone or iPod Touch the WiFi symbol will pop-up for seconds then my iPhone will switch to EDGE. For whatever reason this ALWAYS happens like clockwork - every 24 hours. I've gotten in the habit of unplugging and replacing the plug to restart the router nightly so that I will be set for the next day of WiFi use. It's extremely odd and frustrating.
     

Share This Page