When does the 9600 kick in?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Stino, Oct 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Stino macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    #1
    Hi,

    Just ordered a 15" MBP with the 9400 and 9600 in there... but I was wondering when the 9600 exactly kicks in... if you are doing normal browsing, as I understood it is disabled and it won't consume extra power so no effect on your battery life... but when does it kick in than? When it feels the 9400 can't handle it any more and autostart the second one? And will it cooporate or take the job from the 9400?


    Thanks!
     
  2. icedd macrumors 6502

    icedd

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #2
    It kicks it when you switch it to 9600 in the system preferences.

    In bootcamp however, it is always the 9600.
     
  3. Stino thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    #3
    Thanks for the fast reply! Anyway, when you switch it on will it use both or just th 9600?
     
  4. polaris20 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #4
    It uses one or the other, unfortunately. It's not hybrid SLI like that in the Dell XPS 13".
     
  5. Rampant.A.I. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    #5
    Somebody should do one of these for the graphics card:

    [​IMG]
     
  6. GeneKam macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    Mississauga, ON
    #6


    LMAO hahaha I have actually never seen hat one, and i mean i have seen things such as autotune porn... (You tube that, you wont be sorry!)
     
  7. RaceTripper macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    #7
    You change it in the Energy Saver prefs pane. You have to log out and back in each time you change from one to the other.

    I think the way it works is really lame and half-ass. Apple should have provided the ability to switch graphics on the fly.
     
  8. polaris20 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #8
    Apple should have allowed users to use both at once.
     
  9. andrew upstairs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Location:
    Downtown Los Angeles
    #9
    Snow Leopard is capable of that. Nothing uses it yet, though.
     
  10. J the Ninja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #10
    No, it's not!

    THAT IS FOR OPENCL ONLY. And it's not "both at once" anymore than the 9600+CPU is "both at once". Aka, you can send one job to one while the other works on a different job, but they can't share. You will have to split the job to get it on both. There's not very much practical use for making a program that can target both at once. Too much work, for only a small gain on a handful of systems.


    HybridSLI* is pointless with the 9400+9600 combo. It will not happen, it cannot happen, and it should not happen. Go research how it works, PLEASE. Is reading the product brochure on Nvidia's site SO HARD that nobody on this forum has bothered to do it?



    *HybridSLI is actually a blanket term for GeForce Boost and HybridPower. Nobody here actually knows the difference though. (HINT: It's in the same PDF I told you to read in the previous paragraph)
     
  11. polaris20 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #11
    How about piping down a bit and not being so rude to people? Is that SO HARD?

    Seriously, it's amazing people feel that it's okay to speak to others online in a manner that would get them escorted to the door in real life.
     
  12. J the Ninja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #12
    Wow. I'm so rude because people insist on repeating the same wishful misconceptions without even bothering to look up HybridSLi on Nvidia's site or Wikipedia, or just searching the forums for the last 600 times I've posted the same info on this board. Just for you though, I've posted a FAQ thread with the links you need. I'd post it in MacRumors guides, but even fewer people actually read those.
     
  13. polaris20 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #13
    It's not what you say, it's how you say it. Sorry you can't tell the difference.

    You really can't see how that's patronizing? Really? Wow.

    I'm fully capable of finding nVidia's specifications on my own, thanks.
     
  14. J the Ninja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #14
    Why didn't you then? And it was meant to be patronizing, hence why it sounds that way.

    P.S. You realize that in these last two posts I'm basically trolling you, right?
     
  15. polaris20 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #15
    Oh, so you meant to sound that way. That makes it all better then. :rolleyes:

    And I did read the pdf, I missed that the 9500m supports it, the 9600m does not. EXCUSE THE HELL OUT OF ME.

    I can't wait until the next time you ask a question here. I'll be sure to treat you like an idiot too.

    Yeah, I realize you're a troll.
     
  16. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
  17. polaris20 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #17
    Don't worry, I'm out of here. Nothing more productive or informational can come of this thread. The OP has gotten the info they requested.
     
  18. Stino thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    #18
    he did... and thanks for the info btw :)

    Feel free to lock the thread :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page