When I'm shooting rap videos with my 70d, I wanna get a lot of bokeh within the shot.

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Viantef, May 29, 2014.

1. Viantef macrumors member

So Sigma 18-35mm 1.8 Art or Sigma 50mm 1.4 Art? It's an extra $150 for the prime 50, and they're already kinda expensive. ($800 & $950)

I like the Sigma 18-35mm 1.8 because it'll be more versatile, in which I use it for a lot of street photography, filming weddings, etc.

However, I wasn't sure if I shot like this would be achievable on a 35mm 1.8. I just love that bokeh

http://imgur.com/i2t92Sf

Here's another shot, I just love this look. I plan to purchase the 70d & Sigma Lens in 2nd week of June, so any insight would be appreciated.

http://imgur.com/qcJ5elm

Thanks

2. Chad3eleven macrumors regular

I'm not a photo pro by any means, but I've shot video for years.. and at my old job we switched to 5Ds..

Now.. I didnt shoot a lot but my coworker gave me some lessons regarding adjusting depth of fields..

It has to to with f stop/aperture and shutter speed exposure.. now I forget what it is but basically a larger F stop (1.4 or 2.8) will give a shallow depth of field when compared to f16. With the same lens you can have a shallow depth of field (lots of bokeh) or the reverse.. with most of the frame in focus..

When we shot interview type stuff, we used a long lens (200 mm) and tweaked the settings so the BG was out of focus..

I'd read up more and camera settings and practice with what you have..

http://digital-photography-school.com/how-to-get-shallow-depth-of-field-in-your-digital-photos/

https://www.markholmesphoto.com/new...-how-to-control-depth-of-field-in-a-dslr.html

3. ChrisA macrumors G4

If you are after a shallow depth of field effect the 50mm prime lens will likely be the best option.