When my 5K iMac arrives Monday, I am going to clone

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Cape Dave, Oct 30, 2014.

1. Cape Dave macrumors 68000

my mini by using Carbon Copy Cloner to an external SSD.
    Then, I am going to boot the new iMac for the first time and press the proper keys to get the screen mode that gives boot options, then click the "restore from Carbon Copy Cloner SSD" choice and follow directions.

I cannot see any need to go thru the whole setup procedure first.

This is my first time doing this with a Mac. Am I missing anything?

Thanks much for assistance.

Although I may do a fresh install in the future, for now I would like to do it this quick way.

2. forg0t macrumors member

Does OSX install every driver needed for any supported Mac on each install? I doubt it does.

3. chrfr macrumors 603

The new iMac ships with the standard build of 10.10. All installations of a given build of OS X include all the same drivers, regardless of which hardware was used for the original installation.

4. DerekS macrumors 6502

If it were me, I'd time machine the disk and then restore from time machine.

CCC is going to load the older OS on there, which you don't want.

5. tillsbury macrumors 65816

You should also consider doing a clean install. Then you won't have a load of junk hanging around from previous OS versions and applications you don't really want. I spent last night doing that, moving about 600Gb over and installing all the apps required. Now I know my iMac has a clean install and no junk from the last three years...

6. Cape Dave thread starter macrumors 68000

Interesting. I have never done that with Time Machine. I just started using it for backup.

So if I did it that way, I would do the initial install of OSX on the new computer and then fire up time machine and do a full restore?

Also, I do have the latest OSX Yosemite on the mini currently.

----------