iPhone When the iPhone 5 comes out - will you wait for jailbreak to upgrade?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Jman13, Jul 15, 2012.

?

Upgrading to the new iPhone - will you wait for a jailbreak?

1. I will be buying the new iPhone as soon as it's released - the jailbreak can wait.

31 vote(s)
    67.4%
  2. I will be buying the new iPhone as soon as a jailbreak is available for it.

10 vote(s)
    21.7%
  3. I'm planning to skip this upgrade cycle

5 vote(s)
    10.9%
  1. Jman13 macrumors 68000

I'm relatively new to the jailbreaking side, having owned the iPhone 3Gs, 4 and 4S, and just having done my first jailbreak on Thursday. Of course, now I'm wishing I'd done it much sooner, as the jailbreak upgrades are frankly like getting a new iOS update, but better.

I had always wondered when a new iOS version would come out, why jailbreakers would just stick to the old firmware with the JB rather than upgrade, especially when iOS 5 came out with better notifications and such....and now I understand.

Heck, it's only been a few days for me and I would NOT want to lose the JB. So, the question to you is, for those who are planning to upgrade to the iPhone 5 (or whatever they call it), will you early adopt and live without a jailbreak for a while, or will you hold on to your current device until there is a confirmed untethered jailbreak for the new iPhone on iOS 6?

2. BuckeyeMac macrumors 6502

Hmm that's a good question. I haven't thought about that before.

I just jailbroke my first phone about 3 weeks ago (my 3Gs), and I've been up for an upgrade since March/April. I will jailbreak every iPhone I have from now on. But I will probably upgrade my phone and stick with stock OS, until the JB is released

3. Jman13 thread starter macrumors 68000

Yeah, coming from a 3Gs, I'd definitely upgrade...from my 4S, I'm not sure.

I think I'm going to wait for a jailbreak, because actually it feels like I just got a new phone.

4. 3bs macrumors 603

3bs