When to install 64gb RAM?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by PannaKO, Aug 6, 2019.

  1. PannaKO macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    #1
    I've just ordered a BTO iMac 27" with 8gb of RAM and 2x32gb RAM kits to replace it with from Crucial.

    Should I install them straightaway before starting up the machine for the first time or should I let it perform it's initialisation from first boot-up with the original RAM first?

    Any advice appreciated.
     
  2. northernmunky macrumors 6502a

    northernmunky

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Location:
    London, Taipei
    #2
    Shouldn't make any difference at all, but personally I would set it up first and make sure a new machine is working properly and then replace the RAM once youre happy.
     
  3. mikehalloran macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Location:
    The Sillie Con Valley
    #3
    Yes, I'd give it a couple weeks or so to make sure there aren't any issues.
     
  4. Ledgem macrumors 68000

    Ledgem

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Location:
    Hawaii, USA
    #4
    I don't think you need to wait a few weeks. Boot once, make sure things seem to be working as you'd expect, then power down and install your new RAM. No point in letting the RAM you've already purchased waste away on your desk when you could already be putting it to use. If a problem develops you can easily remove the new RAM and see if the problem goes away, and/or return the system to Apple with the 8 GB configuration.

    Enjoy your new computer!
     
  5. PannaKO thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    #5
    Thanks for the advice everyone!
    I'll do just that and cross my fingers the new RAM is faultless.
     
  6. wardie macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    #6
  7. mmomega macrumors 68040

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #7
    When? yesterday. that's when I added another 32GB.

    So glad pricing has been dropping on RAM more recently.
     
  8. PannaKO thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    #8
    Thank you for the extra tips, that's the kind of thing that wouldn't have crossed my mind. I'll definitely do this too.

    I've never installed RAM in an iMac before and not doing it correctly is a bit of a worry...I don't want to break it on the first day of using it!
     
  9. mmomega macrumors 68040

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #9
    I have done many ways people are suggesting. From putting in aftermarket Crucial RAM from the time I open the box and before first plug in to sometimes waiting months or years to upgrade the RAM.

    Personally I've only had Corsair Vengeance RAM go bad out of decades of PC and Mac upgrades. And I have around 30 Macs atm running 24/7 some for almost a decade.

    I normally go with Crucial RAM, just an old personal preference and they haven't let me down yet.
     
  10. 28Gauge macrumors 6502

    28Gauge

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    DFW
    #10
    That is what I did when I upgraded the RAM on my new iMac.
     

Share This Page

9 August 6, 2019