When will 4GB or 8GB RAM be available for the MBA?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Dr_Maybe, Feb 16, 2009.

  1. Dr_Maybe macrumors 6502

    Dr_Maybe

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Location:
    South America
    #1
    It looks like 4GB memory modules are available. Do you think Apple will have 4GB in the MacBook Air when it gets updated? Do you know if 8GB modules are comming to the market soon and if those could be used in the Air?

    I have an old MacBook Pro and would like a MBA, but if I would like to be able to upgrade to more RAM than is currently 2GB maximum on my MBP. I mean I think my computer is about 2 and a half years old. If I buy something to replace it for $2500 I want to be able to have more RAM.

    I don't think I can ever have too much RAM. I read about problems with 8GB RAM in another thread, but that will probably be fixed with newer OS version. I would really like 4GB or 6GB at least.
     
  2. bugout macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    is everything!
  3. Dr_Maybe thread starter macrumors 6502

    Dr_Maybe

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Location:
    South America
    #3
    I know it's not upgradable in the current MBAs. I meant, when Apple update the MBAs. Revision C or D for instance. They could throw 4GB in instead of a 2GB.

    Does the MBA use the same modules as MB and MBP except they are soldered on?

    Does anyone have information about what kind of modules are in the pipeline for memory producers? 6GB or 8GB?
     
  4. kinkster macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #4
    I don't really think it will be needed any time in the near future but I could see them including it in a higher end model, as a relatively cheap way to differentiate them or produce some extra profit on upgrades.
     
  5. tubbymac macrumors 65816

    tubbymac

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    #5
    I was hoping for 4 gigs of ram in the rev B, but Apple was stingy on ram. I think there's a really good chance we will see 4 gigs on the rev C but that could be nearly a year away.
     
  6. bossxii macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #6
    While I agree "you can never have to much RAM" I'm sure Apple doesn't look at the AIR as a machine that needs 4 or 8 gigs of ram cosidering the 1.6 or 1.8 Duo core processor. I guess if you face facts no matter how cool the MBA is, it's still limited by CPU speed, no matter how much ram you throw at it.

    Until they show me a 2.2 or 2.4 duo core and a upgraded graphics unit more RAM doesn't do much but raise the cost/sell price. Looking at the Air as a gaming machine or a design platform is not what Apple had in mind and not likely what a large percentage of people purchase an MBA for. I use mine for work/citrix/vpn and web browsing, streaming movies, email etc.. I have no issues ram or otherwise with it doing these tasks.

    What exactly would you use a MBA with 4 or 8 gigs of ram in it's current build, Rev B? (just curious)
     
  7. MeatPie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    #7
    The RAM is definitely not the same, it is made of multiple tiny pieces that add up to 2GB, and are attached to the logicboard. It seems Apple would need a new logic board design in order to change the RAM capacity.
     
  8. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #8
    Honestly, the MBA CPUs are a little more powerful than you give them credit for... the rev B MBA that is. This is really a high-performance chip. And while the clock speed is a little lower than that of the MB, it still is running on a 45 NM Process CPU with 6 MB L2 Cache. That is DOUBLE the L2 cache memory of the unibody MBs! That is a much bigger deal which you may not have considered carefully enough when comparing based only on CPU clock speed. And the rev B is running the same Penryn form of the MB and MBP. If you want to talk about a limited chip, sure the 65 NM process that was in the original MBA was limited.

    Also, the 1066 MHz RAM with the Nvidia GPU is quite worthy itself...

    I would love to see four or eight GB of RAM in the next MBA, but I am very happy with the upgraded rev B MBA, considering the serious limitations of ALL of the major components of the original MBA.
     
  9. Cheffy Dave macrumors 68020

    Cheffy Dave

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida, on the Gulf Coast in Homosassa Fl
    #9
    all answers are guesswork, only :apple: knows and :apple: ain't tellin
     
  10. Dr_Maybe thread starter macrumors 6502

    Dr_Maybe

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Location:
    South America
    #10
    The rev B SSD has better performance than my MacBook Pro 2.0Ghz. They aren't slow. What I would use the more RAM for is running Windows XP in a seperate window for instance. Or just having a bunch of apps open at the same time.
     
  11. kinkster macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #11
    A bit off topic but as we're comparing the MBA to the Alum's, does anyone know how much of a difference it makes for the MBA's NVIDIA to be underclocked a bit?
     
  12. sk147 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    #12
    While I agree mostly with that, I think the issue of more RAM is not just about current capabilities, but future. If the last thirty years are any indication, basic OS and application memory needs seem to rise dramatically almost without relation to features. There is nothing I do on Word now that I didn't do 15 years ago, but I sure as heck couldn't run it on those machines under OS X, and even if Microsoft jimmy-rigged a System 7 version, I am sure it would sputter.

    Granted, at this point that is as much about processor and graphics power as it is memory, but memory always seems to strike first (except perhaps for gaming or other high demand applications). At work, I am using a seven year old Dell that, to be honest, would still be fairly acceptable if it had triple the ram (obviously I am not doing game design, video processing, or web development), but simply chokes with its 384 megs.

    4 Gigs (or more) -- while largely irrelevant at this moment -- would give the MBA an extra year or two (or maybe even three) of usable life for someone who is not pushing its capabilities, especially in the higher power Rev. B configuration.

    But then again, Apple doesn't try to sell long-life and long-term value like they did in decades past.
     
  13. Moriarty macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    #13
    In the keynote Apple said it is only 4 x faster than the GMA X3100 rather than 5 times. So I'd say it's 80% as fast.
     
  14. Dr_Maybe thread starter macrumors 6502

    Dr_Maybe

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Location:
    South America
    #14
    Just now, I have a big swap file. Just apps like email apps, webbrowsers, iTunes, Skype, Adium, a text editor. If I also want to do open a photo editing app or a virtual Windows machine it really adds up.

    I don't need a faster CPU, but RAM is a serious bottleneck for me. I don't think 2GB is a lot these days. The MBA is not a $400 netbook. I'm not sure, but I'd guess you can get a $700 laptop with more than 2GB RAM as standard.
     
  15. iMacmatician macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    #15
    And even if you couldn't, you may be able to upgrade the RAM. Which is why I am satisfied with 2 GB RAM on my MBP.
     
  16. sk147 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    #16
    This is one of the reasons I ended up going with a refurb Rev. A. I don't really need the horsepower, either, but fear the fixed and limited RAM will cause problems in the future; decided I'd apply the cost savings to upgrading sooner.
     
  17. bossxii macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #17
    True, true.. I have always looked at clock speed of a processor over duo/quad core and probably don't realize it's full potential. I've also for the past 25 years used Windows based machines so it's always taken alot of speed and memory to run that MS crapware vs OSX. This seems to run much better with lower specs then my 2.4 duo core windows based pc.

    I honestly have only had my MBA about 2 months (Rev B 1.8/SSD) and it has become my main computer. I'm amazed how well it does everything I ask of it. I have some video conversion to do from my HD camcorder soon so that will give it a test, but for my daily use I love this thing.
     
  18. pilotError macrumors 68020

    pilotError

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island
    #18
    Your chances are slim and none... Slim is on a diet :eek:
     
  19. sparkie7 macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #19
    bring on Rec C. 4GB [0r 8GB] RAM 256 [512] SSD [BTO]
     
  20. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #20
    Better be by the time Safari 4 isn't Beta anymore. It's a memory HOG.
     
  21. Maven1975 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    #21
    And might I ad .. S.L.O.W. :(
     

Share This Page