where am i going wrong?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by pieseller, Mar 17, 2008.

  1. pieseller macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    #1
    hello,

    i recently downloaded handbreak to rip a dvd (transformers). it has converted the file into an mp4 file. but when i try to put the film onto my ipod touch itunes says the ipod cannot play the file?

    i didnt think i needed to convert the file as it was already in quicktime mp4?

    any ideas?

    ps, my i-touch is unhacked if that helps.
     
  2. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    In handbreak choose the iphone preset.
    The iPhone probably can't display it because it is at too high of a resolution or bitrate...
     
  3. fandsw macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Helena, AL
    #3
    What settings did you use for Handbrake? Use the iphone settings for Handbrake, don't change anything else at first. Will the file that you created play okay on your Mac??
     
  4. pieseller thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    #4
    the file works great on my macbook. where is the ' iphone preset' setting? and what does it do?
     
  5. pieseller thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    #5
    hold up. think ive got it. so when i initially rip the dvd, if i select the ipod touch preset- it will work, right?
     
  6. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #6
    Yes. But you can also just have iTunes reconvert the file to get it to work.

    TEG
     

Share This Page