iPod Where are the songs?

CommonMan

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 27, 2006
Midwest
I'm new to Macs but really liking I-Tunes. I just added some songs by ripping a cd I burned about a year ago with MP3 files. They are now in my I-tunes library but where are the files actually stored on my computer?

I heard you can make the I-tunes library exist anywhere...like even on an external hard drive. I wonder how?

WildCowboy

Administrator/Editor
Staff member
Jan 20, 2005
First, it's "iTunes."

Second, by default, your music files go into ~/Music/iTunes/iTunes Music.

Third, here is an article on how to move your iTunes library location.

spicyapple

macrumors 68000
Jul 20, 2006
Select the song, press Command+R. It will show the song in Finder, from there, you can Command-click on the window title and icon to see the folder hierarchy.

CommonMan

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 27, 2006
Midwest
Thanks

WC, Sa, MJ:

Thanks a million. I'll try it out.:)

Another problem, which may be outside the scope of this discussion, is the problem of transfering MP3 files (or any data) from a PC to my MAC.

Any USB External disk drive that works in the PC, does not work in the MAC and vise versa.

Someone told me to format the disk drive in the MAC, but the format options appear to be limited to MAC extended, MAC something else, and unix. I don't see anything about FAT in the disk utility function.:confused:

TEG

macrumors 604
Jan 21, 2002
Langley, Washington
First of all, it is Mac. A MAC is a Machine Access Code, or MAC address, a hexadecimal code used to uniquely identify your computer on the internet.

Secondly, utilize the format utility on a Windows machine to create a FAT32 drive. Apple has removed the DOS file system as an option, as many functions of Application does not work correctly on FAT drives. Once you have a FAT32 drive you can use it on both machines.

TEG

calculus

Dec 12, 2005
WildCowboy said:
First, it's "iTunes."
Firstly, it's 'firstly'...