Where ARE these GPS enabled cameras?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by seenett, Jan 6, 2009.

  1. seenett macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    #1
    On the iLife '09 Guided Tour, John shows a Nikon as an example of the new GPS enabled consumer cameras. The camera appears to be a P6000.

    Does anyone know of other point and shoot consumer cameras that are GPS enabled? The P6000 is the only one I could find, and even then I had to dig in the "features" to see it had GPS.
     
  2. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #2
    Nikon also has a GPS attachment for a couple of their SLRs, notably the D90. More usefully, there's a bunch of little keychain sized GPS devices that log your location every 15 seconds or so and then when you get back to you computer you can use various software packages to combine the GPS log and your photos to apply the proper geotagging data.
     
  3. compuwar macrumors 601

    compuwar

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    Northern/Central VA
    #3
    Sanyo made a couple and then stopped, Canon made a "combine with a track-log" device.

    However, the biggest one I can think of off the top of my head is....


    The iPhone 3G!

    (It's off on my phone though.)
     
  4. seenett thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    #4
    As the OP, I certainly hope that manufacturers will SOON start making GPS enabled cameras as a common feature. I am aware that certain SLR type cameras can dongle a separate GPS device that needs to be reconciled before uploading - but how convenient is that? I love the geotagging on my iPhone, but no one seriously uses their iPhone's camera for everyday pictures, do they? I just want a point and shoot camera that iPhoto (and Flickr and Google) can map to my vacation photos.
     
  5. compuwar macrumors 601

    compuwar

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    Northern/Central VA
    #5
    I don't know- the margins on P&S cameras are very low- cell phones have to have GPS, P&S manufacturers need it to be a requested feature- as it's an added hardware cost in one instance and a few lines of code in the other.

    You don't need to tether a GPS if you're reconciling on time and your camera is set to the GPS time, you can do it with a track log, two uploads and some software. The tether option puts the GPS into the EXIF so you don't need to reconcile it.

    Personally, I'd rather they had to search for the bodies the old fashioned way ;)
     
  6. Canubis macrumors regular

    Canubis

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #6
    That reads really interesting. Could you post some names or manufacturers for such keyring devices? Or maybe even a link? ;-)
    Sounds like a great opportunity to give my camera a lil feature upgrade. :)
     
  7. notjustjay macrumors 603

    notjustjay

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Location:
    Canada, eh?
    #8
    Where are the GPS-enabled cameras? Clearly, in the same place as all the video cameras that transfer over USB as opposed to Firewire. :p
     
  8. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #9
    I'm still waiting for a sensible solution for Canon EOS cameras. Canon's current "idea" is to stick the wireless transmitter on the side, which is then plugged into a GPS unit via USB.

    Cumbersome, and utterly impractical in the field.
     
  9. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #10
    Actually many new Digital Video Camcorders utilize USB instead of FireWire. Unfortunately the new Canon HF10 HD Camcorder I just bought has USB instead of fireWire.
     
  10. shady825 macrumors 68000

    shady825

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Area 51
    #12
    I just glanced over an article yesterday that said you can plug something into the shoe mount for GPS data... Im trying to find it now...
     
  11. SWC macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #13

    I currently have this and I would not recommend it unless you stay stationary while shooting. If you're walking around your tags will be only mildly accurate. I generally map out the way points on google earth and they are all over the place putting me in locations I never went blocks away from where I actually was.
     
  12. SWC macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #14

    http://www.jobo.com/web/photoGPS.447.0.html

    that loosk pretty interesting but still needs to be synced up. I know know how the canon solution works which requires an external GPS and a grip that is about $1000 if i remember correctly. But at that price it's not worth it.

    Nikon definitely has the most elegant solution here with a cable that plugs in to their own gps unit (that can be shoe mounted) and inserts the geo data right into the exif on the camera for around $250~
     
  13. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #15
  14. spice weasel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    #16
    I was going to post a new question about this, but then I saw this post, so I'll ask here:

    I'm checking out the new iLife '09 and I like the geotagging support in iPhoto. I figure that if I take a quick pic with my iPhone 3G before I start shooting with my dSLR at each location, then when I import my photos I'll have the geotagged iPhone pic and then a series of dSLR shots. I can then manually add the geotag data to my "real" photos.

    I just took a test shot with my iPhone (I never use the camera on it), emailed it to myself (I'm at work, on a PC), and opened the file in Photoshop. I can't see any GPS data in the EXIF data. Am I doing something wrong?

    EDIT: Ok, I think I know what's up. I assume emailing a photo file strips it of geotag data?
     
  15. compuwar macrumors 601

    compuwar

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    Northern/Central VA
    #17
    Yep, known issue. You must download the photos to get the geocoding and you must tell the phone it's ok that the camera uses the GPS. That's the extent of it.
     
  16. numbersyx macrumors 65816

    numbersyx

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #18
  17. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #19
    It doesn't actually need to connect to a WiFi network to use it as a location datapoint, just connect to A wifi network, other networks that broadcast their SSID can still be used to pinpoint location.

    Still, not terribly useful in general practice outside of large cities.
     
  18. billabong macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    #20
    After seeing this feature I want to go out and buy the Nikon P6000! I really hope that this starts to become a regular feature with new release cameras. Has any heard and news on GPS camera's at CES?
     
  19. billabong macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    #21
  20. numbersyx macrumors 65816

    numbersyx

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #22
    So it does need to connect to a Wifi network....
     
  21. Hmac macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    #23
    The Nikon dSLRs have been able to support GPS for years using an add-on hand-held GPS, or something like their GP-1 module. IIRC these things run around $300.

    I doubt we'll see this as a built-in feature on any camera due to the relatively high expense and relatively low usefulness, but I do see it as it is now - an option that can be added if the user wants it.

    [​IMG]
     
  22. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #24
    I don't know...

    Well, they've got GPS, so THEY know where they are... :eek:

    :D
     
  23. Gold89 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #25

Share This Page