Where are you all storing your apps on the Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by cis4life, Aug 25, 2014.

  1. cis4life macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    #1
    Hello,

    The current Mac Pro's come with only 256gb SSD (Stock configs). For this much money, Id figure a lot of you have a lot of apps for your content creation stuff (adobe suite, 3d program, development tool, games and more). How are you all storing all those apps. I know you can expand with external (but isn't that more less for file storage).

    Basically how are you managing app installs on such a small SSD?
     
  2. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #2
    256GB is not that small. I just put everything on it, but if it's any media content (ie logic libraries etc) I just put that on my secondary drive (RAID 1, 3TB drive)
     
  3. Michael73 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    #3
    With considerable uncertainty around whether third-party makers will provide an SSD with the right kind of connector and the sheer speed of the drive, I went with the 1TB CTO option. Today, that internal drive is about half full. Aside from apps, over 100GB are two different VMs.

    Nevertheless, my libraries (photo, video and music) all live on an external TB connected RAID array.
     
  4. Anim macrumors 6502a

    Anim

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Location:
    Macclesfield, UK
    #4
    512 Internal SSD

    On the Mac side I just use Xcode so that doesn't take up much space, email, photoshop, word and excel.

    Bootcamp is installed for 3DSMax and a couple of games. My internet connection is quick enough that I just delete the games I'm not playing and install them again if I want another bash at em (via steam).

    Nothing is a problem yet. When TB2 external SSD's start dropping in price I might invest in one for music and movies but its all manageable. Spotify helps here as its instant streaming, no storage.
     
  5. greenmeanie macrumors 6502a

    greenmeanie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Location:
    AmigaWarez
    #5
    256GB isn't enough for me.
    I can't even have all my music on it with the other things I have installed.
    I hope someone makes an affordable SSD for it in a Large size.
     
  6. snouter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #6
    Apps on the internal 256GB and most everything else (cloud storage, projects, etc) on a Pegasus2. I shuttle projects to the SSD to work on them and then shuttle them back to the Pegasus2 for storage. Ghetto.

    I just picked up a stock 6c, but I def thing it's a little cheap of apple to go 256GB on a $4000 computer.

    Also, the larger SSDs are a little bit faster.

    My thinking at the time was that I would upgrade the SSD later, but, that is not an option at this time.
     
  7. prowlmedia Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Location:
    London
    #7
    It's all about the portability and External storage.

    I do video / Comp / 3D work

    Internal 1tb
    Apps
    Current Project Folder.
    Media Cache

    External Thunderbolt 1 - Drobo mini with 512 SSDs
    Completed(!) Work Folder
    Test renders
    Dump files.
    Music etc.

    External Thunderbolt 2 - Mini SSD
    This...Silicon Power 240gb
    Boot camp

    This is all backed up via thunderbolt to a synology 1812+ which is awesome - currently clocking in about 17tb!
     
  8. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #8
    SSD's are already pretty affordable. 512GB is around -$300. 1TB is around $400.
     
  9. uhslax24 macrumors 6502

    uhslax24

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania USA
    #9
    I have a 512 SSD, but I've only used about 60GBs total (granted, it arrived today). I don't really plan on storing any other files on it, but just wanted to be safe just in case, and have a buffer for large transfers and added redundancy.

    All of my media files are on my 8TB Pegasus RAID.
     
  10. cis4life thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    #10
    I'm needing to store and run multiple VM's for development. a few of those and my internal drive is full. That is the issue I'm seeing myself running into.
     
  11. jclmavg macrumors member

    jclmavg

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    #11
    My apps go on the internal drive. The rest goes onto 2,5 TB external SSD storage using the Blackmagic Multidock.
     
  12. wesk702 macrumors 68000

    wesk702

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Location:
    The hood
    #12
    I went through my memory fast, mostly cause of audio.
    I have my internal ssd 1tb with my apps and audio files, and 1 1tb thunderbolt ssd external for all else.
     

Share This Page