Where are you purchasing your memory for Intel Imac

sarcoptic

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 6, 2005
14
0
I just bought a 20" intel imac with the standard memory configuration figuring its cheaper to get it else where. Well low and behold it uses 200pin SO-DIMMS that are 667mhz. These seem to be extremely rare and I have only seen mention of them at crucial.com and the 1 gig dimm is out of stock. Anyone else having any luck finding 1 gig dimms?
 

MRU

Suspended
Aug 23, 2005
25,318
8,813
Other
sarcoptic said:
I just bought a 20" intel imac with the standard memory configuration figuring its cheaper to get it else where. Well low and behold it uses 200pin SO-DIMMS that are 667mhz. These seem to be extremely rare and I have only seen mention of them at crucial.com and the 1 gig dimm is out of stock. Anyone else having any luck finding 1 gig dimms?

Yep it's the exact same memory that they are using in the macbookpro.

I was going to order 1Gb x1 stick from Apple; & 1Gb from crucial, but when I realised they had bumped up the price to €148+€10; shipping and were also out of stock I decided to pay Apples inflated price for 2Gb.. Works out about 55-60 Euro more expensive overall, but what the heck.. :D (Apple's price has come down from what it used to be though).
 
Comment

MRU

Suspended
Aug 23, 2005
25,318
8,813
Other
semaja2 said:
sorry to hijack this thread but is it just me or is the imac just a macbook? except not a laptop
Yep pretty much.. Except with faster bigger HardDrives and faster processors.. Oh and a lot cheaper.. ;)
 
Comment

Sunrunner

macrumors 6502a
Nov 27, 2003
599
2
semaja2 said:
sorry to hijack this thread but is it just me or is the imac just a macbook? except not a laptop
So is the Mini to a certain extent... Apple has been blending the hardware internals for years with their compact-designed computers (iMac, Mini, Laptops)
 
Comment

MRU

Suspended
Aug 23, 2005
25,318
8,813
Other
You guys in the US really get a good price. Same memory from crucial EU (for EuroZone) is €148 or €179 ($50 more :( )
 
Comment

paul.lenhardt

macrumors newbie
Jan 17, 2006
7
0
Outpost.com

Anyone else notice this?
Outpost is advertising this, DDR2 1GB PC2-5300 (DDR2-667MHz) Single So-Dimm Mushkin #991504
It is found at http://shop1.outpost.com/catreq/974 for $67. I disbelieved this price because everywhere else is selling it for double.

I called outpost to confirm that this ram was in fact a single 1GB DDR2 PC2-5300 200 pin SO-Dimm module and for the advertised price. They told me that was correct (the rep went further than just checking the website, he called sales and had them confirm it) and it is in stock. I order one to bring my iMac up to 2GB when I get it Thursday. I just hope everything is as it seems.

Also, according to a discussion thread at apple, this ram (mushkin #991504) seems to be correct for the iMac. http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=314184&tstart=0

I'll let you know how it goes once I receive it.
 
Comment

Peace

macrumors Core
Apr 1, 2005
19,541
4,366
Space--The ONLY Frontier
paul.lenhardt said:
Anyone else notice this?
Outpost is advertising this, DDR2 1GB PC2-5300 (DDR2-667MHz) Single So-Dimm Mushkin #991504
It is found at http://shop1.outpost.com/catreq/974 for $67. I disbelieved this price because everywhere else is selling it for double.

I called outpost to confirm that this ram was in fact a single 1GB DDR2 PC2-5300 200 pin SO-Dimm module and for the advertised price. They told me that was correct (the rep went further than just checking the website, he called sales and had them confirm it) and it is in stock. I order one to bring my iMac up to 2GB when I get it Thursday. I just hope everything is as it seems.

Also, according to a discussion thread at apple, this ram (mushkin #991504) seems to be correct for the iMac. http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=314184&tstart=0

I'll let you know how it goes once I receive it.
If you ordered only one then your memory will be 1.5gigs not 2.
The stock Intel iMac comes with 512megs
 
Comment

sarcoptic

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 6, 2005
14
0
At a price like that I ordered from Outpost too...hope it comes....also the manual for the intel imac even states it takes SODIMMS so folks I would take advantage of the outpost deal if you are looking for some more memory for your imac/macbook pro
 
Comment

paul.lenhardt

macrumors newbie
Jan 17, 2006
7
0
Peace said:
If you ordered only one then your memory will be 1.5gigs not 2.
The stock Intel iMac comes with 512megs
I upgraded to a single stick of 1GB in a 20 inch iMac, also I upgraded the video card to the 256 meg version, if you must know. ;)
 
Comment

CanadaRAM

macrumors G5
sarcoptic said:
At a price like that I ordered from Outpost too...hope it comes....also the manual for the intel imac even states it takes SODIMMS so folks I would take advantage of the outpost deal if you are looking for some more memory for your imac/macbook pro
"SODIMM" is not the defining characteristic for compatibility. Like choosing tires for your car because they are "rubber"

SODIMM describes the physical package. (Small Outline Dual Inline Memory Module)
DDR-2 667 MHz describes the general type and speed of the module

The chip organization and the SPD settings are not advertised. Those describe how the module responds logically to the computer -- that is where much of the compatibility issue lies. We do not know at this time how much trouble there may be with compatibility on these machines.

If you are buying SODIMMs from a vendor who does not explicitly state Mac compatibility, make sure you have the right to return it for a full refund if it does not work. I would avoid sellers who charge a 15% restocking fee and do not guarantee compatibility.
 
Comment

sarcoptic

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 6, 2005
14
0
The memory at outpost.com:
Capacity: 1GB DDR-2 SODIMM
Speed: DDR2-667
Timings: 5-5-5-15
32Mx8 chip density
6-Layer PCB
200pin
1.8V - 1.9V
Unbuffered, Non-ECC

Currently thats only speed and timings of DDR2-667...
 
Comment

ekenny

macrumors regular
May 28, 2005
178
0
New York
just ordered one of the 1 GB modules from outpost for the Macbook. Nice price. Hope it works well.
 
Comment

mbonnett

macrumors newbie
Jan 18, 2006
1
0
Crucial has 1GB SODIMM in stock

This is just a heads up. As of 2:00pm central time Crucial now has the 1GB SODIMM in stock.

Regards,

-Mike
 
Comment

paul.lenhardt

macrumors newbie
Jan 17, 2006
7
0
paul.lenhardt said:
Anyone else notice this?
Outpost is advertising this, DDR2 1GB PC2-5300 (DDR2-667MHz) Single So-Dimm Mushkin #991504
It is found at http://shop1.outpost.com/catreq/974 for $67. I disbelieved this price because everywhere else is selling it for double.

I called outpost to confirm that this ram was in fact a single 1GB DDR2 PC2-5300 200 pin SO-Dimm module and for the advertised price. They told me that was correct (the rep went further than just checking the website, he called sales and had them confirm it) and it is in stock. I order one to bring my iMac up to 2GB when I get it Thursday. I just hope everything is as it seems.

Also, according to a discussion thread at apple, this ram (mushkin #991504) seems to be correct for the iMac. http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=314184&tstart=0

I'll let you know how it goes once I receive it.
Just to let everyone know (now that I have my iMac and the ram), the ram works perfectly in the iMac (therefore also the MacBook Pro since the use the same ram). I think outpost is currently the cheapest seller. Awesome deal, glad to have found it and I hope you guys take advantage of it (I hate to pitch for a company, but I don't think there is anywhere else that is selling this type of ram for nearly as cheap, and it is in stock).
:)
 
Comment

Epicurus

macrumors 6502
Apr 28, 2005
394
0
Minneapolis, MN
paul.lenhardt said:
Just to let everyone know (now that I have my iMac and the ram), the ram works perfectly in the iMac (therefore also the MacBook Pro since the use the same ram). I think outpost is currently the cheapest seller. Awesome deal, glad to have found it and I hope you guys take advantage of it (I hate to pitch for a company, but I don't think there is anywhere else that is selling this type of ram for nearly as cheap, and it is in stock).
:)

Awesome! That's very nice to hear. I'll see how my iMac handles at 512MB for a while at first, but if there's RAM out there for this cheap, I might be tempted...
 
Comment

adam1185

macrumors regular
Apr 30, 2004
217
0
Does anyone know if these new iMacs are supposed to have matching RAM for best performance? I read about that with the G5's but haven't heard anything on the core duos.
 
Comment

Similar threads

Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.