Where can I get iWeb?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by GuyCullen, Dec 29, 2011.

1. GuyCullen macrumors newbie

GuyCullen

I'm new to owning a mac, and before purchasing read a lot about iWeb and for its simplicity looked forward to using it.
    I know it's not bundled in iLife any more but was hoping it was still available on the app store, but i can't find it.
    Does anyone know where i can get a copy, ideally without using illegal download.

2. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy

Staff Member

Looks like you can still buy the iLife 11 DVD from Amazon.

3. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

You need to find someone, or some company that is selling iLife 09, I think apple skipped iLife 10 and iLife 11 doesn't have iWeb

4. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy

Staff Member

According the apple.com here, it is included in the DVD version.

5. blevins321 macrumors 68030

The disc version of iLife 2011 has iWeb. But with the exception of stability updates for new OS's, it's the same version as the 2009 version.

6. GuyCullen thread starter macrumors newbie

GuyCullen

got it sorted now, went to Genius Bar at Apple Store, and they agreed to install it free of charge for me as I'd already purchased iLife '11 from them. Thanks for all your ideas and help.

7. rocknblogger macrumors 68020

rocknblogger

From what I understand iWeb will be discontinued in 2012 and anyone who has a website on iWeb will have to find a new web host and move it. Once you do that iWeb the app will no longer work.

You might want to take a look at Rapidweaver as an alternative. http://www.realmacsoftware.com/rapidweaver/overview/.

Also if you want your own website, using a content management system like WordPress is actually quite easy.

There are two ways to build your own site with WordPress, sign up for a free account at http://wordpress.com and start publishing content in five minutes.