Where can I shop for software for OS X?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jaypee68, Mar 19, 2008.

1. jaypee68 macrumors regular

I just setup my Mom's new 20-inch iMac tonight and am in need of somewhere to buy some software. I've had a mac before, but I've been out of the loop for awhile regarding Macs and I'm not sure where to shop. My local Best Buy has a few titles, but not really enough. Where online could I look except for the Apple Store? I also need replacements for Print Shop Pro, and Microsoft Works. My Mom used those 2 packages on Win XP and she still has documents in those formats, and I'd like to find software that would still be able to use those files. TIA. :)

2. vandozza macrumors 6502a

vandozza

Hey jaypee68,

I have been using a Mac now for about 6 years, and honestly I can't remember the last boxed software package I bought for any of my computers!

Most of the apps that you will need you can find for free, or purchase online!

I'm not sure about converting microsoft works files, but for word processing you could try -
    NeoOffice - Free openoffice software for mac, works really well and includes all the functionality your average user is likely to need.

Pages - should be a trial version on all new macs. if not in the applications folder under iWork '08 then it will be on the Leopard install DVD.
    iWork isn't free, but you can purchase a key online from the apple store, so you don't need to go anywhere.

As far as paint type programs you again have free and paid options -
    GIMP or seashore - Free opensource photoshop like software.
    Pixelmator - paid photoshop like software.

Google the suggested software for more details, and download GIMP/NeoOffice to see if they will suit your needs.

Other software to try (just my opinion of the best in each category, others will disagree im sure!)

RSS reader - NewsFire (Free) or NetNewsWire (Free)
    FTP - Cyberduck (Free)
    IM Chat - Adium (Free)