Where did my widgets go?

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by Texas_Toast, Jun 24, 2016.

  1. Texas_Toast macrumors 6502

    Texas_Toast

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #1
    I just upgraded from Mountain Lion to El Capitan.

    In the past, pressing the eject key on my MBP would launch my desktop widgets and I could see the weather and times across the U.S.

    What happened?
     
  2. Buggyflayer, Jun 29, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2016

    Buggyflayer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Location:
    West Sussex, UK
    #2
    Dashboard is fn+F12 on my Air

    If you go to System Preferences, Keyboard, Shortcuts
    you can change the key that invokes Dashboard
     
  3. Texas_Toast thread starter macrumors 6502

    Texas_Toast

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    I used to get my widgets by hitting the CD Eject button. How can I do that based on your advice?
     
  4. Buggyflayer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Location:
    West Sussex, UK
    #4
    Can you get the widgets by pressing the fn key and F12 at the same time?

    If not, can you see Dashboard.app in your Applications folder?

    If you can see the widgets by using Dashboard and you do want to change it from what I assume is the default of F12 then you can do so using the Keyboard Shortcuts. Please note, I don't have a CD on my laptop so can't test if the Eject key is blocked from mapping like this in El Capitan.

    Screen Shot 2016-06-30 at 08.56.33.png

    you can see in the screenshot above that Show Dashboard has F12 mapped as its shortcut

    you can highlight Show Dashboard to be blue, like the Show notification centre looks above. Then click on the F12 with your pointer, then try pressing your CD Eject key.
    If you get an error sound, it can't be done and you'll have to start getting used to using fn and F12. Or if you prefer map another combination such as Option + W instead but you'll have to go through this again as and when you get a new Mac.
     
  5. Texas_Toast thread starter macrumors 6502

    Texas_Toast

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    I did that, and it didn't work. Apple must no longer support that - maybe because new Macs don't have DVD drives?
     
  6. Buggyflayer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Location:
    West Sussex, UK
    #6
    Are you seeing the Dashboard at all?

    If not, have a look at System Preferences/Mission Control

    Make sure Dashboard isn't set to Off, I have mine set As Space

    Screen Shot 2016-07-01 at 19.35.21.png
     
  7. Texas_Toast thread starter macrumors 6502

    Texas_Toast

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #7
    I was referring to programming the Delete key
     

Share This Page