Where do put the Microsoft User Data folder?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Bushwood, Dec 8, 2015.

  1. Bushwood macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    #1
    As part of the removal of Office, I was instructed (by some How-To I found online) to move the "Microsoft User Data" folder from its home to the desktop. This was - I assume - to preserve that folder. I finished the removal, and have reinstalled Office 2016. But, that folder is still parked on my desktop... and I haven't a clue where to put it.

    Any help is much appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Do you have Office 2016 installed and working properly now? If you do and you don't need any of the personal Office settings from that old install, you can delete the folder. If you some reason you want to keep it mourned a while just to be sure, you can just put it in Documents if you like.
     
  3. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #3
    Sadly, spell check seems to have struck again. ;)
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Yeah... autocorrect... that's it! :oops:
     
  5. chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #5
    It usually just sits in your Documents folder.
     
  6. Bushwood thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    #6
    Thanks guys - I'll keep it "mourned" in the Doc's folder for a while. Thanks again!
     
  7. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Dawwww!! You are killing me here. :mad::D:D
     
  8. jmiddel macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Location:
    Land of Enchantment
    #8
    Doesn't that folder contain your data, including emails if you use entourage/outlook?
     
  9. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #9
    Yeah... I think the idea is that data is corrupted so with removing the folder then having Outlook make a new one upon start would pull everything back in from the Exchange server then all would be well.
     
  10. MacGizmo macrumors 6502a

    MacGizmo

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Location:
    Arizona

Share This Page