Where does iTunes store video information?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by mrochester, May 8, 2016.

  1. mrochester macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #1
    Hi all

    I have added some TV programmes to iTunes and I have used iTunes itself to edit the meta-data (adding series number, episode number etc). Where is this information stored? Is it associated with the video file itself or does iTunes store this meta-data separately? Just wondering in case I ever reinstall Windows I want to be able to just drop the same information back into iTunes.

    Many thanks

    M
     
  2. rigormortis, May 8, 2016
    Last edited: May 8, 2016

    rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #2
    the meta-data is stored in the actual file itself. , this is based on my understanding that "meta data" is defined by the stuff you can type in command i, like name , artist, director, song name, album etc

    i went to a movie the i had in my iTunes library , and i filled out command I and then i went to finder and copied the file itself ( which had new dates and times ) to another computer's iTunes library and my edits were still there
     
  3. mrochester thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #3
    Thanks for that. What I might try is putting the same file on another computer and add it to an iTunes library and see if it has all the same information I've added.
     
  4. mrochester thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #4
    So I copied over one of the files that I had edited in iTunes with the correct series and episode number. However, the second computer had none of this information and I would have to re-enter it all again. As such, it doesn't appear as if iTunes stores this data in the video file itself. Does anyone know where it is stored?
     
  5. rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #5
    when i drag a file from another computer it goes to home videos. can you check to make sure media kind is tv show in command i? other then that, i have no idea.
     
  6. mrochester thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #6
    On the second computer the video type is 'home video' despite me having changed it to 'TV programme'.
     

Share This Page