Where does Maps app (Google) get its data from? (like coffee shops and stuff)

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by frosse, Jul 10, 2008.

  1. frosse macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Sweden
    #1
    I was trying out the Maps app on my Touch the other day here in Gothenburg, Sweden, to see if it was as good as Jobs said it would be. I searched for everything from coffee to italian food, but Maps only listed about 4-5 places. Thats too few I think.

    Where does Maps get its data from? Yellowpages.com? When I'm in sweden, does it gather info from a swedish yellow-thingy site?
     
  2. Jeremy1026 macrumors 68020

    Jeremy1026

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #2
    Google
     
  3. frosse thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Sweden
    #3
    Where does Google get its data from?
     
  4. barryallott macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #4
    The tooth fairy. :)
     
  5. badgerman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #5
    Jebus
     
  6. Sonicjay macrumors 6502a

    Sonicjay

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #6
    I lol'd
     
  7. frosse thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Sweden
    #7
    Oh rly?!

    ...stop trolling and dont bother answering unless you know the answer.
     
  8. Jeremy1026 macrumors 68020

    Jeremy1026

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #8
    Googlebot, users submitting their business to google maps, etc.
     
  9. kdarling macrumors demi-god

    kdarling

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Location:
    Cabin by a lake
    #9
    Businesses can get added to Google maps here:

    Google Maps Business Center

    Also, in case anyone reading this doesn't know, you can adjust the location of any place (say, your house) using the web based google maps. Just enter the address, then click Edit in the left corner of the popup box over the red thumbtack.

    You can move the location a little amount and Google will remember it. Since Google maps seems to always be about two houses off, this allows people to help fix things.
     

Share This Page