Where has my barometer gone ?

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by Lodesman, Oct 8, 2016.

  1. Lodesman macrumors regular

    Lodesman

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Location:
    Folkestone, Kent, UK
    #1
    Since updating to IOS 10.0.2 my barometer does not work on my Air 2.

    The apps that use the barometer say that the barometer is not supported by the Operating System.

    Any idea why ?
     
  2. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #2
    It's apparently a bug in iOS 10. The barometer doesn't work in the iPad Pro either.
     
  3. rgilvert, Oct 8, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2016

    rgilvert macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    #3
    just off the chat with Apple Support, they claim (through remote diagnostic support) that the device is fine including the barometer...but the Apps that use it basically indicate that there is not barometer installed. (see chat below)

    Samstag, Okt 08, 2016 05:33 PM
    Dauer 18 Minuten 59 Sekunden

    Simon

    danke, dass Sie sich an den Apple Support gewandt haben. Mein Name ist Simon. Wie kann ich Ihnen helfen?

    rgilvert

    Hi Simon, can we also do in english?

    Simon

    Sure, I can talk to you in english or forward you to a native speaking advisor. What do you prefer?

    rgilvert

    I have an iPad Pro and since the update to iOS10 my barometer does not work anymore? Can I do something to get this working again??


    Simon

    I can look into this. What barometer are we talking about?

    rgilvert

    the barometer in the iPad that measures pressure?? It is used to determine height in an app like AutoPilot that controls professional drones...

    rgilvert

    I checked also my iPhone 6+ and there all is ok, also running iOS10

    Simon

    Did this app work on your iPad Pro before you updated?

    rgilvert
    yes

    Simon

    Did you try reinstalling it?

    rgilvert

    and there is a lot of cases in many forums but have not seen an Apple reaction yet hence me reaching out to you

    rgilvert

    yes, the apps basically state that the device has no barometer

    rgilvert

    some people (and I don't want to do this) have resolved the issue by going back to iOS9

    Simon

    I see. Let me do a diagnostic of your iPad. You can allow it in the settings if you go to privacy and then to diagnostics.

    rgilvert

    ok

    Simon

    You need internet connection. The diagnostic might take a few minutes.

    rgilvert

    its done, now stating 'waiting' ;)

    Simon

    Perfect. Give me some time to go through the results.

    rgilvert

    ok

    rgilvert

    its still stating waiting...

    Simon

    So the results show that your devise works just fine. Including the barometer. However, apparently Apple has received reports of the symptom you describe and is currently investigating this issue. Keep your software up-to-date using Software Update and I am confident the problem is solved soon.


    rgilvert
    ok, thanks


    Simon

    No problem. Thanks for your chat and your patience! Also check the Apps for future Updates. I am not exactly sure what side needs to deliver.
     
  4. swordfish5736 macrumors 68000

    swordfish5736

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Cesspool
    #4
    Most likely a change in the way the barometer is accessed by apps in iOS 10 and developers will need to update there apps to fix the problem.
     
  5. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #5
  6. rgilvert macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
  7. Lodesman thread starter macrumors regular

    Lodesman

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Location:
    Folkestone, Kent, UK
    #7
    Many thanks, I am pleased that others are experiencing the same difficulties (I think).
     

Share This Page