Where/How do I plug in Guitar on a Macbook

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by cowlesz, Jan 5, 2010.

1. cowlesz macrumors newbie

I just bought a macbook a few days ago. I'm totally new to it and therefore a complete dumbass. :eek: So....

I want to start using my guitar with Garage Band. I know I need a 1/4" to a 1/8" adaptor. (In the process of buying one). However.........

Where do I plug that into? On my Mac there is definitely a headphone jack-in. But there doesn't seem to be a mic jack-in.

Is it the same thing? Or do I need to buy something like this?

http://www.turntablelab.com/dj_equipment/41/49/68301.html

Cheers dudes.

2. Schtumple macrumors 601

Schtumple

It's both input and output in one port. Annoying if you want to have headphones and a guitar, but there we go. Hope that helps.

3. cowlesz thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks mate. I was hoping that was the case. Do you know if the link I posted is worth buying or not?

4. ronnes macrumors newbie

regular input on mac with the original sound card im afraid sucks with guitar.....you will get latency! which is no fun playing with. strum a chord and you´ll hear it half a second later.

i think that link of yours would dissapoint you...

a tip!

check out Native Instruments Guitarrig with the session soundcard! i use it and its good value for the money! lots of cool sounds to use with guitar and you can open it in garageband to use it with recording.

heres a link

http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Native-Inst...emQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item35a6197713

5. Schtumple macrumors 601

Schtumple

I always found to solve that you just hit record on GB just briefly, when you stop recording, it's synced up with a lot less latency.

Also, the iMic is terrible, I had one, broke within a few months, terrible build quality. Do not buy it.

6. polaris20 macrumors 68020