Where is Boot Camp?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by asdfTT123, Nov 8, 2007.

  1. asdfTT123 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #1
    I just purchased a new Santa Rosa Macbook today and I'm trying to learn my way with OS X since this is my first mac computer. First of all, I'm trying to install Windows XP via boot camp but I can't see to find out how. Apparently there is supposed to be a Boot camp utility in the Applications/utility folder but I definitely don't see anything there...am I missing something?
     
  2. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #2
    apparently

    second row third icon
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  4. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #4
    why when i type boot into spotlight it shows photo booth?
     
  5. asdfTT123 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #5
    Ummm yeah...thanks for your help but I definitely don't have that. o_O I have everything else that's listed there except for the Adobe stuff. Is there something wrong with my system? I just got this Macbook today an I didn't really touch anything till now.
     
  6. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
  7. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    btw, did you try spotlighting boot camp? (must be 2 words bootcamp dosent find anything)
     
  8. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    Fixed it for you.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. asdfTT123 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
  10. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #10
    wtf is wrong with mine?
     

    Attached Files:

  11. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
  12. shecky Guest

    shecky

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Location:
    Obviously you're not a golfer.
    #12
    are you sure you are running Leopard (OS X 10.5)?

    go to the apple menu then "about this mac..." and see what version it is.
     
  13. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #13
    Which do you use more often? :p
     
  14. asdfTT123 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #14
    I'm pretty sure it is installed.

    "Mac OS X
    Version 10.5"

    I was playing with coverflow and spaces not long ago.
     
  15. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #15
    yeah its installed, but i dont have a clue where its at...maybe try and use the system disks and run the setup to make sure its installed
     
  16. jackc macrumors 65816

    jackc

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    #16
    I think there were people saying that for some reason Boot Camp Assistant wasn't installed on a new computer, but would show up if they reinstalled Leopard.
     
  17. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #17
    I've noticed a lot of users not having Boot Camp installed.

    You might need to get Pacifist and extra the application manually off of your installer DVD.

    Pacifist while a little techy would take much less time.
     
  18. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #18
    actually i dont think ive ever opened either since i installed leopard
     
  19. webgoat macrumors 6502a

    webgoat

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #19
    put in your leopard dvd and install it from the software packages
     
  20. asdfTT123 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #20
    I can't find Boot camp within the Leopard install disc...I think I'll just do a clean install.
     
  21. TimJim macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #21
    spotlight sort of learns what you use most often.
     

    Attached Files:

  22. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #22
    Do you have an intel mac?

    I bet leopard does not install boot camp on ppc computers...
     
  23. cmaier macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #23
    This has been covered in many threads. For some reason some leopard installs are missing bootcamp.

    This was posted on the apple forums:

    Hello,

    I called Apple support this morning, and they guided me to the Boot Camp package on the setup CD - just put the Install Disc 1 in, then in Finder, to to Go -> Go To Folder... and put

    /Volumes/Mac OS X Install Disc 1/System/Installation/Packages
    in the dialogue box. There you should see BootCamp.pkg. Running that with all the defaults puts the Boot Camp Assistant in /Applications/Utilities/

    PowerMac G4 (MDD), PowerBook G4 (Al 15"), Macbook (SR 2.0GHz) Mac OS X (10.5)
     
  24. asdfTT123 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #24
    Yes, I have a Santa Rosa Macbook with a 2.2ghz Core 2 Duo. I just popped in my Leopard DVD and I'm doing a clean install of the OS now. Is it possible to not install junk software such as iWork, Office, and stuff like Garageband (or w/e?) when I do the clean install?
     
  25. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #25
    Yup, Just uncheck them during the install..

    I think you hit customize or something..
     

Share This Page