Where is iMac sleep mode timer?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by super tomtendo, Jan 17, 2014.

  1. super tomtendo macrumors 6502a

    super tomtendo

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Location:
    Florida
    #1
    Where is the iMac sleep mode time? I don't see it under energy saver...
     

    Attached Files:

  2. firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #2
    Under ML 10.9.1 it is on the same screen. It has always been there as far as I can remember.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. super tomtendo, Jan 17, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2014

    super tomtendo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    super tomtendo

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Location:
    Florida
    #3
    Nope. not for me. Just look at the picture I posted above...
     
  4. super tomtendo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    super tomtendo

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Location:
    Florida
    #4
    From what I've found on the internet. It looks to be a new feature of the Haswell Chip. Basically the new chip automatically goes into low power states that for all intents and purposes does what the sleep setting did but on its own.
     
  5. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    This changed in Mavericks. The way you have yours now with that "Prevent computer from sleeping..." unchecked the computer will go to sleep the same time the display does. If you check the box the Mac will stay awake when the display blanks.

    There is no longer a separate time control for computer and display.
     
  6. firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #6
    Learn something new. Thanks Weaselboy, appreciated.
     
  7. super tomtendo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    super tomtendo

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    I don't think that's correct. As seen above. Both my first post and the guy below me posted screen shots using the SAME OS X. It's about the Haswell Chip, which I also stated above.
     
  8. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #8
    It is correct, but I should have been more clear this is only on a Haswell machine like you mentioned. There are some new sleep states. Look over this thread.
     

Share This Page