where is my ram gone?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by derekkwong, May 5, 2010.

  1. derekkwong macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    #1
    my machine is mbp unibody with 4gb ram, snow leopard 10.63
    have only few programs running (browser, im, real audio player)

    why there is only 1.5gb ram (free+inactive) available to use?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
  3. derekkwong thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    #3
    I am not sure but would lovely to know where is my ram gone and how to save ram

    With 1.5gb ram left, it is hard to run pro apps like Adobe softs, FCP or windows 7 vm smoothly
     
  4. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #4
    HERE
    [​IMG]

    You run them all concurrently? A VM, while PS is used and AE and FCP, or more like FCP is used and a VM and AE and PS is open, or ...?


    Please read the following, as to further knowledge can be gained doing so.

    Mac OS X: Reading system memory usage in Activity Monitor
     
  5. derekkwong thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    #5
    Thanks for instruction

    Here is my list of application running

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  6. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #6
    The first one can't be seen.

    I currently have seven applications open, and 1.94GB usable out of 4GB. I can even open 15 more and will still have 900MB left for me to use.
     
  7. derekkwong thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    #7
    Nope, i am not intended to run all pro apps concurrently
    I don't think any notebook (without crazy mod) could handle this

    I just want to run IM (msn), safari with few tabs, w7 vm with a word smoothly
     
  8. mstrze macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #8
    Are you having trouble running them now together smoothly?

    As Spinnerlys is saying, the Mac OS does a good job of memory management. Don't worry about what is available according to the Activity Monitor.

    What you mentioned should run without issues. IF you are indeed having issues with your total memory...your question should have been "Why I am having issues runing IM (msn), safari with few tabs, w7 vm with a word smoothly?"
     
  9. derekkwong thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    #9
    Pict has been fixed, thx for remind

    Here with few programs running with w7 vm
    Is the ram usage higher than normal?

    [​IMG]
     
  10. mstrze macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #10
    So derek...you never got back to us:

    Are you actually having problems, or are you just assuming you won't have enough memory to do things based on the Activity Monitor?
     
  11. derekkwong thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    #11
    Sorry for misleading
    That is what exactly i am thinking
     
  12. mstrze macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #12
    Well...don't worry. You should be fine.:D
     

Share This Page