Where is the Assist Me in Wifi in High Sierra?

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by Investor27, Sep 27, 2017.

  1. Investor27 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #1
    My 2017 MacBook Pro keeps getting dropped, and the Assist Me option under Network Preferences has always helped restoring my internet access. After installing High Sierra yesterday, I noticed that the Assist Me option is no longer there, and I can't find it anywhere. Does anyone know where it is, or how we can diagnose Wifi issues when they come up?
     
  2. MeasterHD macrumors member

    MeasterHD

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    Location:
    Miami
    #2
    It's gone, even Apple have absolutely no clue about if they removed Network Diagnostics tool on High Sierra.
     
  3. Investor27 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
  4. fisherking macrumors 604

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #4
    is it 'wireless diagnostics'? for some reason, that's here: HD>System>Library>Core Services>Applications. apple couldn't have made it easier to find... :eek:
     
  5. adrianlondon macrumors 65816

    adrianlondon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #5
    Do you mean Wireless Diagnostics? Mine is still in /Applications (and can be accessed by option-clicking the wireless icon).

    Or did you mean Network Utility? That's also in /Applications.

    They're both aliases to /System/Library/CoreServices/Applications. I can't remember if I created them myself ages ago or whether they're there by default.

    I don't have an Ethernet card, so the above is all I think I've ever had on this 2013 Macbook. You could try About This Mac / System Report / Ethernet
     
  6. fisherking macrumors 604

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #6
    cool, but yes, you created those aliases (and it's a good idea)...
     
  7. Investor27 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #7
    How do I get to HD and then System? I've looked everywhere. Laugh all you want, it's all right. I've had a MacBook Pro since June, and I still don't know how to find HD. Anyway, here's a screen grab. I tried looking for System under Finder, and all of these services showed up. Lol!


    Screen Shot 2017-09-27 at 8.40.38 PM.png
     
  8. tonyc46 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    #8
    The "Assist Me" function is different than the "Wireless Diagnostics." You can access wireless diagnostics directly by Option clicking the Wi-fi in the Menubar. However, that only creates a report for sending to Apple. I'm also looking for the previous Assist Me since I have one computer that I used that on quite often. Hopefully, they'll put it back.
     
  9. Investor27 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #9
    Well. I installed High Sierra today guys, and two-finger clicking and/or tapping on the Wi-fi icon in the menu bar does NOT give me the "Wireless Diagnostics." In fact, it doesn't give me any options at all. Just nothing happen. And yes, I have Secondary two-finger tap/click box checked.

    And yes, I was referring to the "Assist Me" function. It used to be an option when I click on the "Wi-fi" icon in the Menu Bar, but after installing High Sierra, it's gone. "Wireless Diagnostics" is not what I was looking for. Thanks for all the reply, though, guys!
     
  10. fisherking macrumors 604

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #10

    that's what these forums are here for. HD is just the hard drive. you could, in the Finder, go under Finder to preferences, and, in the sidebar, check 'hard drives' under devices. you should now see 'macintosh hd' on the side of any open window.
    follow the path i mentioned earlier, so... 'macintosh hd'>system>library>core services>applications. there you'll find 'wireless diagnostics'. if you drag that to the desktop, you'll have an alias there (a shortcut). you can use that to access the app any time...
     
  11. Investor27 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #11
    Thanks for pointing that out, Fisherking! I went to the Finder's preferences, and the "Hard Drive" box was checked, but "Macintosh HD" was not there. After unchecking it and then checking the box again, it appeared. Thanks for the help.
     
  12. Partron22 macrumors 68020

    Partron22

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Location:
    Yes
    #12
    I think I'll wait a week or two before trying this update.
     
  13. adrianlondon macrumors 65816

    adrianlondon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #13
    Same for me. What you want is "option click" which is where you hold the option/alt/⌥ key while clicking. Then you should see the option to run Wireless Diagnostics.
     
  14. LarryJoe33 macrumors 65832

    LarryJoe33

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Location:
    Boston
    #14
    Do EXACTLY this: put your left index finger on the left option key next to the command key which is next to the space bar, PRESS IT DOWN AND HOLD IT, using the trackpad with one finger, scroll up to the wifi icon on the taskbar usually to left of volume. CLICK ON IT WITH YOUR RIGHT FINGER WHILE YOUR LEFT IS HOLDING DOWN THE OPTION KEY.

    You should see a different menu with Open Wireless Diagnostics about 4 down on the list from top.
     
  15. fisherking macrumors 604

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #15
    so true, and my apologies for over-complicating things (i haven't had the wifi icon in the menubar in years, so didn't know that). but there it is..
     
  16. LarryJoe33 macrumors 65832

    LarryJoe33

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Location:
    Boston
    #16
    Ha ha, I actually taught you something for a change!
     
  17. fisherking macrumors 604

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #17
    nah, i knew it already, but wanted you to think i didn't... :rolleyes:

    seriously, i spend time on these forums to help where i can, and to learn what i can.
     
  18. LarryJoe33 macrumors 65832

    LarryJoe33

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Location:
    Boston
    #18
    You've taken me to school many times.
     
  19. fisherking macrumors 604

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #19
    cool. i help where i can, ask questions when i need help, and swat at whiners whenever possible. online forums are fun...
     
  20. LarryJoe33 macrumors 65832

    LarryJoe33

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Location:
    Boston
    #20
    Ha, you probably swatted at me and I probably deserved it. Learned a ton from this forum. I am about one year into my Mac experience (coming from Windows) and I feel like there has been a ton of knowledge transfer.
     
  21. TheBuffather macrumors 6502

    TheBuffather

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #21
    I, too, am getting wireless to drop. For me, each time I lock the computer and come back.
     
  22. fisherking macrumors 604

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #22
    does it not come back at all? or does it take a while?...
     
  23. TheBuffather macrumors 6502

    TheBuffather

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #23
    It doesn’t come back at all. I have to turn off Wi-Fi, then reenable it.
     
  24. tonyc46 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    #24
    The problem still exists and no "Assist me" as of 27 October. It's telling when this used to work with Sierra. The other devices that are at various times tied to the router and never have trouble are: several iOS devices, several Android devices, and several Windows devices. This MacBook is the only one that has frequent problems.
    Is anyone aware of a standalone app that can troubleshoot wireless connections?
     
  25. kodap macrumors newbie

    kodap

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2017
    #25
    This is the exact same thing that happens to me, on a daily basis, I don't know (not expert in this) if it's something related to mac address or anything else in my OS network refreshing, but I usually solve it by clicking on the "assist me" button on the bottom of my "network preferences" window, and let my system re-acquire the correct network/wireless settings to operate and access the web — notice those green-yellow-red lights where the status/availability of each connection is shown: internet, ISP, etc.) it's not there anymore....

    frankly, I haven't yet found a better work-around instead of turning off/on wifi which is definitely not the same thing, however it works sometimes to troubleshoot this problem haven't seen such dummy upgrade since I have a mac - and it's been 20 year as user.... disappointed.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page

37 September 27, 2017