Where the heck is Genius?

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by mobiousblack, Jul 12, 2013.

  1. mobiousblack macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #1
    Has it been removed? I cant seem to find a way to activate it anywhere in the Music app?
     
  2. Tyler23 macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #2
    In the music app, go to more and then edit, see if it's there?
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #3
    There is no option for Genius for me either. Frankly, I could care less because I don't use it but I wonder if there is a setting somewhere that makes the icon appear.
     
  4. Krevnik macrumors 68040

    Krevnik

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    #4
    Genius is still available to me under "More". And there's now a Genius playlist option under playlists (rather than having to start playing a song and THEN hit genius).
     
  5. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #5
    I just looked in the more section. It's not there :confused:
     
  6. mobiousblack thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #6
    Well I'm on the iPad ATM and I don't have a more tab. But I also checked my iPhone and it's not there. Could it be that I have to reactivate genius on iTunes first?

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Krevnik macrumors 68040

    Krevnik

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    #7
    iOS can't generate its own genius data. It relies on iTunes to generate it and then sync it over to the device. So if it is disabled on iTunes, it's not being generated and copied over, so no genius on iOS.

    Short answer: Yes, I believe you would have to reactivate it in iTunes.
     
  8. aDRock1154 macrumors 65816

    aDRock1154

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #8
    And Bingo was his name-o.
     
  9. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #9
    Thats pretty user unfriendly of Apple.

    They should have had a tab prompting you to sync to iTunes.
     

Share This Page