Where to buy MBP online?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by FayeDay, Jun 9, 2009.

1. FayeDay macrumors newbie

FayeDay

I'm new to Mac. I've been a PC user my whole life but I think I'm finally ready for the switch. I think I've decided on a 15-inch 2.53 MacBook Pro but now I'm trying to figure out where I should buy it from.

I want to buy it online and have been looking at a few places. I'm not a student anymore so buying directly from Apple doesn't seem to give me the best pricing options. I've been looking at a few other online stores, MacMall, Smalldog Electronics and Springboard Store in particular.

They all have similar pricing-- MacMall has a $75 mail in rebate, Springboard has free shipping and you get reward points (which from what I gather I can use to get money off other purchases) and Smalldog is doing a special that includes a sleeve and free shipping. I'm totally torn.:confused:

Wondered if anyone had any advice to offer or could tell me if one place is more reputable than another.

2. Blackjack07 macrumors member

Blackjack07

You are quite new to mac, so I would suggest you buy it straight from Apple. I've used Macs for the past two years, and I love it, so I bought my laptop from the refurbished section on the apple.com website. You find great deals, and if any problem occurs, you have the same warranty like if you would of gotten a brand new one.

So, briefly, I would buy it from a reliable source, such as Apple itself (you might want to look whether there are actions going on, I am not aware of that atm) so you are safe. Later in life, you can get another one (because you are going to love your mac), after you learned a bit more about macs or computers in general!

Good luck, and if any comments, please respond

B07

3. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

Chupa Chupa