Where to buy new graphic card for Mac Pro 2008?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by klhr890, Jan 2, 2015.

  1. klhr890 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    #1
    Hi there,

    My early 2008 model Mac pro's memory card just failed. Looked online and couldn't find anywhere to buy a new one. Lots on eBay but would prefer new.

    Apple recommends the following:
    ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT
    NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT (part number 630-9191 or 630-9897)
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 5600
    ATI Radeon HD 4870, offered as an upgrade kit

    but does anyone else know if other graphics cards (more recent) are also compatible?

    thanks for the help!
     
  2. sigmadog macrumors 6502a

    sigmadog

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Location:
    near Spokane, WA
    #2
    I currently have a Radeon 5770 in my 2008 3,1 and it runs fine. There are others out there that will also work in the 3,1 but I don't know all of them.

    The 5770 doubles the VRAM of the 2600 XT to 1GB. I picked it up new for about $230 a couple years ago.

    There are some cards that go as high as 3GB VRAM (I think the Radeon 7970 is one), though I can't say anything about them as I haven't tried them.
     
  3. RoastingPig, Jan 2, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2015

    RoastingPig macrumors 68000

    RoastingPig

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
    #3
    pretty much every nvidia 600 series and 900 series. no 690

    ati 5770 5870. amd 4870 6870 7950

    the ndidia770 and 780 go over the tdp as well as the amd7970.

    none of these card will give you boot screens unless flashed with efi.

    theres a really informative sticky about upgrading stock graphics cards in all mac pros HERE
     
  4. Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
  5. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #5
    More recent cards are the Nvidia 680gtx 2Gb vram Mac Edition and the Sapphire Radeon 7950 3Gb vram. You can still find them as brand new. Other choices include the Radeon 5770Hd or the 5870Hd but brand new ones may not be available. Better go with cards that have 1gb vram.
     
  6. Tucom macrumors 65816

    Tucom

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #6

    Doesn't matter if the cards have 1GB VRAM or not, better go with cards that have MORE, actually.


    As for the 680 and 7950 - one of them isn't compatible with the 3,1 MP's, not sure which one though. Do some research OP - and, if you have the budget, get one of them (whichever one is compatible), as it should give you the most for your money.
     
  7. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #7
    I have the Nvidia 680 gtx mac edition and used this GPU when I still had my 3,1 Mac Pro and works fine without issues. I don't have the 7950 so I could not comment on that.
     
  8. Tucom macrumors 65816

    Tucom

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #8
    Sounds right, I think it was the 7950 that was for 2009+ MP's only.
     
  9. Macsonic, Jan 2, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2015

    Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #9
    To the Thread starter:

    Edit: Just correcting my post about the Sapphire 7950. According to the OWC site, the 7950 is not compatible with the 2008 Mac Pro. http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Sapphire/100352MAC/
    Sorry for the confusion.

    ----------

    Yep. :) Thanks for pointing that out. I corrected my earlier post to the OP about the Sapphire 7950. Enjoy the weekend.
     
  10. TheStork macrumors regular

    TheStork

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #10
    Nope...I'm running a 7950 in my Mac Pro 3,1 (2008).
     
  11. Tucom macrumors 65816

    Tucom

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #11
    Mac Edition? If so, great! Makes sense, considering the 2008 and on were all 64 Bit EFI. Not sure why it would have compatibility issues, but IIRC there was a situation where it was ONE of these cards that had issues with the 2008's.
     
  12. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #12
    Thanks for letting us know. Sounds good as this gives more options on GPUs for 3,1 Mac Pros.
     
  13. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #13
    I have a MVC modified Gigabyte (3 Fan) GTX570. It has worked in both a 3,1 and a 5,1 Mac Pro. It's in the Marketplace section that you can not yet get to. If interested PM me.

    Lou
     
  14. reco2011 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    #14
    My brother just installed a GeForce GTX660 Superclocked in his 3,1. Plug and play. It is a PC version so you don't get the boot screen but otherwise it worked without hassle.
     

Share This Page