where to download mavericks?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by takkie, Jan 4, 2015.

  1. takkie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    #1
    hi,

    I have a mid 2010 MBP with 8GB Ram, 1 TB Sata drive, and 32mb geforce nvidia card.

    i am going to be doing a clean install, so i am trying to make a bootable usb for mavericks (After reviewing Yosemite, i think i will go with Mavericks due to the bad reviews of Yosemite).

    I was unable to find Mavericks in Appstore, so i googled and found various direct download link in articles, but when i click, appstore is saying, "This is not valid in US region".

    does apple not let you download old OS x once new yosemite is out?

    thanks.
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    If you have purchased it before, you can sign into the Mac App Store and download it using the Purchased tab. If you have not purchased it, you need to contact Apple Support and they can provide you with a download code with which you can download it.
     
  3. rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #3
    thing to try.

    "i purchased mavericks" or "i downloaded mavericks from the app store at least once"

    go to the app store again and click on "purchases"
    it will be there
    ----

    you got mavericks from the app store but apple says your computer is not compatible.. i got this error trying to download mavericks on my macbook pro so i can try running it on an older mac mini

    this happens when your computer is too old to download mavericks, and you might need to borrow someone else's computer to download the application


    ---

    "mavericks came with my computer"

    boot into recovery mode

    hold down option command R and the mac will phone to apple and get whatever operating system the computer originally came with

    ----


    enjoy yosemite

    heh

    ---

    if your computer came with an older os , like lion or mountain lion, and you clicked on the mac app store to download mavericks for free, then it still counts as a purchase and it should be in "purchases" under your apple id. maybe you forgot and gave them your iTunes ID and you downloaded it with your iCloud id
     
  4. takkie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    #4
    i know mavericks was showing up in appstore a few months ago as i saw it. but i didnt download it at that time. How do you make a purchase of a free app? ( i think it was free)

    and no, it doesnt show up under Purchase section of my appstore...

    will they still do it for free if i contact appstore support?

    [edit] just saw the second reply - thanks for the info.

    i have this version: Mac OS X 10.6.8 (10K549)

    how do i tell what os i am using?

    tahnks
     
  5. rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #5


    click on option command R during boot and see what os it wants to download???

    ----------

    what operating system came with your computer originally?
     
  6. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #6
    His machine doesn't have internet recovery.
     
  7. rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #7
    the genius at your local apple store will load mavericks for you for free.

    you can also call apple care too
    but i don't know if they will give you a code or what
     
  8. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #8
    You will have to contact Apple Support. Yes, it is still a free download. All 2010 Macbook Pros originally shipped with Snow Leopard. In Recovery Mode, they may have the option to download Lion if their machine has ever downloaded it in the past.

    With a firmware update, it does.
     
  9. takkie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    #9
    so i bought this new hdd, which i plan on installing the new OS, if anything goes wrong, i will just put back my old 240gb hdd to it so i can do an "Easy revert" without installing/uninstalling. If i just swap out new hdd with the old hdd - it would just boot back to snow leopard with whatever i have now, right?

    And, do you think it makes sense for me to stick with Mavericks for now given that Yosemite's review rating is so poorly low? (2k+ 1 star with 1k+ 5 stars)

    i only use my MBP for internet surfing, emails, iphoto storage, itunes, and vpn to work from time to time.

    nothing hardcore , nothing with gaming.

    Thanks.
     
  10. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #10
    Don't let other people do your thinking for you. Test Yosemite yourself. That is the only way you are going to know if it is an OS that will work for you and your needs.

    Just because some people don't like Yosemite or had some kind of problem with it, doesn't mean you will be the same way.

    Basing your lack of action on the ratings from the MAS is a terrible excuse, in my opinion.

    If it doesn't work for you, at least you will know you gave it a try.
     
  11. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #11
    Yosemite is better than Mavericks in every way except the new look, depending on your opinion. You should stick with Yosemite.

    If you switch the HD then it will boot into ntohing because you have nothhing to boot into. You need to make installation media to boot into and install on new HD. http://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201372
     
  12. takkie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    #12
    sorry, i meant, after i install yosemite or mavericks onto the new 1tb hdd that i just bought, incase something goes wrong with the new OS - can i just simply swap out the new 1TB HDD, with my current 240gb HDD so it can boot back into Snow Leopard as a quick workaround..etc..?

    i am not sure if Mac boot loader writes anything into rom / ram...etc... and may not recognize my old 240GB hdd anymore once i put the new 1TB hdd with yosemite or mavericks into my MBP.

    i understand that i have to make a bootable media in order to install os into the new 1tb hdd.
     
  13. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #13
    You can switch your drives without any problems.
     
  14. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #14
    Yes it would work.
     
  15. takkie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    #15
    thank you all. Given that i have a new hdd to play with, may be i will go with Yosemite for now, and see how it works for a few days. If things are no good, i will go with Mavericks (I have already emailed app store support).

    one last question. I also bought a external enclosure which i plan on using with my current 240gb hdd.

    I really dont have much to backup other then some docuemnts, and iphoto picture database (huge).

    after I get yosemite up and running. i will plug in my 240gb hdd with the enclosure that i just bought - which iphoto directory do i need to copy across from 240gb onto the new 1tb so i can have all my pictures back?

    Thanks.
     
  16. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #16
    Your library is at ~/Pictures/iPhoto Library. (iPhoto Library in your Pictures folder).
     
  17. takkie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    #17
    thank you very much. it came with snow leopard originally.

    i upgraded it today - now i am running with Yosemite.

    I actually love it, no issues so far, and no lagging!!!!

    Thanks. i am glad i went with Yosemite.
     
  18. SmilingSo, Nov 1, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2016

    SmilingSo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    Location:
    Spain
    #18
    Takkie, where and how did you get it? I am trying update from 10.8 to Mavericks or Yosemite.

    (PS I found El Capitan in App store/purchases)
     
  19. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #19
    If you downloaded Mavericks before then you can get it in your purchases list. If you never downloaded Mavericks then you can't get it.
     
  20. SmilingSo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    Location:
    Spain
    #20
    But you know... Obviously I downloaded El Capitan, because it is in my Purchases. But before EC, I had both Yosemite and Mavericks, but these two are not shown in the purchase list. Weird...
     
  21. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #21
    They should be in your purchases if you purchased them (downloaded them) with the same account; maybe they're hidden
     
  22. SmilingSo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    Location:
    Spain
  23. poiihy, Nov 2, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2017

    poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #23
    you can hide purchases in your purchases list, like if you have a lot of garbage purchases you don't need to see. And there's an option to show them.
     
  24. SmilingSo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    Location:
    Spain

Share This Page