Where to find ATV2 UDID

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by sam011989, Jun 6, 2011.

  1. sam011989 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    #1
    I'm trying to install the new beta for ATV2. It's saying I need to register my ATV2 UDID to the developer portal.


    ....where do i get the UDID for atv2? I've looked in the settings on my atv, i plugged it into itunes, and nothings being listed.

    I've searched the forums, and can't find anything.

    Any help appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. Craiger macrumors 6502a

    Craiger

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    #2
    If you plug it in to itunes then click on "serial number" it should change to UDID. This is how it works for other i devices at least.
     
  3. sam011989 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    #3
    Tried it. It just lists the name of my apple tv....no serial number information or anything like that in itunes.
     
  4. cbcc1119 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    Exactly the same thing here. If anyone has any info on how you obtain the UDID for apple tv 2 it would be much appreciated.
     
  5. Craiger macrumors 6502a

    Craiger

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    #5
    Alright... What about going to system profiler then finding the aTV in the USB section. For my ipad the serial number section displays the UDID.
     
  6. sam011989 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    #6
    oooo that was a nice attempt. haven't thought of that.

    ....but nope...nothing listed.
     
  7. Craiger macrumors 6502a

    Craiger

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    #7
    Well I give up. I have decided that the aTV does not have a UDID! :D
     
  8. macrlz9 macrumors 6502

    macrlz9

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #8
    Me too!! Driving me nuts trying to figure out how to find the :apple:tv UDID!
     
  9. briansanderson macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    #9
    Ya I have given up. I have looked everywhere for the UDID. Hopefully someone can figure it out soon.
     
  10. Craiger macrumors 6502a

    Craiger

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    #10
    Has anyone tried without the UDID? Maybe the aren't requiring it for the Apple TV?
     
  11. macrlz9 macrumors 6502

    macrlz9

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #11
    I updated without the UDID.... It restores just fine but when the Apple TV starts up it warns that the device is not activated & all features may not work but everything seems to be working just fine!
     
  12. imutter macrumors 6502

    imutter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere between Baltimore and DC
    #12
    I did not think it had an UDID but I never hooked it up to my laptop ? I do need to look a bid closer I guess and find a cable of sorts
     
  13. shareef777 macrumors 68000

    shareef777

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #13
    Same issue here. Can someone try using a different version of iTunes (prior to 10.5 or 10.3)?
     
  14. jedivulcan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #14
    You can find the UDID of the Apple TV by plugging it into your Mac and looking at it through the Xcode Organizer. It should be the "Identifier" line.
     
  15. adamtj11 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Belfast
    #15
    so just to clarify if i install iOS 5 without the UUID on apple tv 2 , it won't brick it?
     
  16. thehankstar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    #16
    To confirm: is it possible to update the ATV2 without registering the UDID? I can't seem to find it for the life of me, and want to try mirroring...
     
  17. jonnyb macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #17
    I'd really like to know if I can install iOS 5 beta without registering the UDID, too. Thanks.
     
  18. jra46 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #18
    Do I need a Cable to connect apple TV for iOS 5 beta

    Hi,
    I am a new developer and I am trying to figure out how to put the iOS 5 apple tv beta update on to the appleTV. Do I just download the iOS 5 beta file for my AppleTV to my computer then what ?
    please help
     
  19. NachoGrande macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    #19
    you'll need to connect it to your MAC with a micro USB cable. I didn't register my UDID and I don't have any problems. My AT2 doesn't even show up in organizer? You'll get an error that it isn't activated, but everything works fine
     
  20. profets macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #20
    Having the same problem.. Can't figure out the UDID for my apple tv. I've got xcode installed, but under devices it never shows up when plugged in using usb. iPhones and iPads do show up though.
     
  21. IcerPro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    #21
    ATV2 UDID Windows

    If you are on a windows machine. Download USBView for windows. http://www.ftdichip.com/Support/Utilities.htm
    1. Turn off your apple tv
    2. unplug all cords from the apple tv
    3. plug in the power cord into the apple tv
    4. after the white light on the front of the device stops flashing, plug in the usb cable
    5. open USB view
    6. click on the Apple mobile device USB drive port
    7. 0×0409: “XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX” is your UDID
     
  22. tiptopp macrumors regular

    tiptopp

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Location:
    Norwich, UK
    #22
    Xcode

    I did this yesterday - if you are a developer, or otherwise have downloaded Xcode, with the Apple TV plugged into your computer, Xcode will display the UDID.

    I upgraded to iOS5(4.4) yesterday, and without the UDID registered, it told me about an 'unknown error'. Once it was registered, it upgraded fine, and works well - albeit there's plenty of room for improvement with the mirroring from the iPad. But hey, it's a Beta, and it can only get better!

    Tiptopp
     
  23. yobbok macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    #23
    I can't even get ATV2 to show up in iTunes 10.5. I had powered it up until the light stopped flashing, then plugged in the mini USB plug into the ATV2 and then into my iMac. Shows up in system profiler though... Driving me nuts!
     
  24. psedog macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Location:
    横須賀 Yokosuka, Japan
    #24
    Question for those on iOS 5. Is Netflix working? I know it doesn't work on the other iOS devices like my iPad2. I want to enjoy the screen sharing, but I can't risk loosing Netflix on my TV.
     
  25. alextheukrainia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #25
    Yes, Netflix works. Even if Apple TV fails to activate due to UDID not being registered with a developer account.
     

Share This Page