Where to find replacement reed switch for Macbook Pro 2012

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by skweetis, May 11, 2015.

  1. skweetis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    #1
    Greetings! I have a 15" MB Pro, Mid 2012 MD103LL/A that doesn't wake from sleep mode 9 out of 10 times when the lid is closed. Took it to a Genius, he said it was the reed switch and although the machine is still covered under Applecare they can't fix it for me because I put in an SSD so it's considered "tampered with" (I also removed the Superdrive and replaced it with a secondary 2.5" drive and enclosure). Rather than getting an HDD, putting that and the Superdrive back in and taking it back to Apple I want to replace it myself - I've worked desktop support/sys admin for 15 years now and have done my fair share of computer surgeries.

    The problem I'm having is finding the part. There are reed switches out there in googleland and Ebay but only for older Macbooks. If anyone could point me in the right direction I'd appreciate it! And if I have to put the stock hardware back in and bring it to Apple, so be it...
     
  2. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #2
    To be honest, I'd put the optical drive back in there and use your AppleCare for the repair. They can't really claim you tampered with it for the SSD in the HDD bay, because according to Apple, the HDD is a user replaceable part.

    Anyway, I don't see much information on the reed switch for newer MacBook Pros either. I wouldn't think it'd be built into the logic board, but maybe it is?
     
  3. TechZeke, May 11, 2015
    Last edited: May 11, 2015

    TechZeke macrumors 68020

    TechZeke

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Location:
    Rialto, CA
    #3
    The hard drive and RAM is considered user replaceable. It's not the main drive bay that's the problem, it's because you replaced the super drive.

    With that said, I personally asked a genius about the superdrive modifications, and he said you only lose AppleCare on the super drive, not the entire machine. Sounds like the genius just didn't want to be bothered with it. I'd just go to a different Apple Store (if it's possible where you live.) The genius denying a repair for a completely unrelated part is BS.
     
  4. skweetis thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    #4

    Yeah I found it odd that he said they consider that "tampering with". The superdrive mod, I can see that.. but he said to put the original HDD back in (which is now in the Superdrive enclosure) and bring it in. Maybe it's just like everywhere else where you get a slightly different answer depending on who you get.

    I've searched a lot and am coming up empty handed.. was hoping I could just get a $5 part and be done with it but looks like I might have to suck it up, un-mod it and bring it in.

    ----------

    Good to know, thanks! I'm in NYC so I have quite a few locations to pick from. Maybe I'll call support to confirm that about the Superdrive before taking it in.
     
  5. skweetis thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    #5
    Turns out that an SSD *IS* a tamper! I called Apple and also went online to ask an Apple chat agent (you know what they say.. always get a 2nd opinion) and both said yep, put the HDD and Superdrive back in. That's pretty lame in this day and age of SSD becoming more and more common but I'll play along if they're going to be the ones to rip the thing apart and make it go. Taking it in to the Genius Bar tomorrow, will report back with what was wrong with it when I get it back.

    In the mean time I'll mope on back to my old pc for what is hopefully only the 3-5 business days they say it will be...

    [​IMG]
     
  6. hallux macrumors 68020

    hallux

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #6
    Installing the SSD in the HDD spot shouldn't be considered a "tamper", the HDD is considered a user-replaceable part. Removing the Superdrive and installing a cage to mount a drive in, THAT may be considered a tamper.

    However, Apple needs to PROVE that the parts you installed contributed directly to the failure in order to deny the warranty claim. Just because you have a HDD where the Superdrive should be should not be a reason to deny a warranty claim on the reed switch that senses when the lid is closed.

    Read up on the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act.
     
  7. skweetis thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    #7
    Yeah, having worked in IT for what seems like forever now it makes sense to have the original parts in for troubleshooting.. I'm just glad I held onto them!

    The bulk of my IT work has been on PCs; I've supported Macs on and off but this is the first one I've owned. Absolutely love it but I'm quickly learning they're not as user-friendly to do major surgery on as PCs. Thankfully I happened to get a refurb that's still covered under AppleCare (score!) I was going to remove the Logic board just to take a gander at the reed switch but as soon as I got to needing a 3-pronged screwdriver to remove the battery I figured OK, you win this time, Apple.. definitely ordering one of said screwdrivers though because I like taking stuff apart. It's what I do for a living!
     
  8. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #8
    An HDD/SDD upgrade is not tampering, as said above Apple consider the HDD and RAM to be user upgradeable on those models. Unless you've fists of ham and make a mess of the job you're good. My local apple store were not fussed in the slightest when mine went in last year for a no-cost out of warranty logic board replacement as long as the 3rd party RAM and SSD passed the AHT.

    The problem is likely replacing the Superdrive with a data doubler. Is it anywhere near the reed switch?
     
  9. hallux macrumors 68020

    hallux

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #9
    The reed switch is, I believe, near the base of the display and would likely be on the top side of the logic board (facing the display).
     
  10. skweetis thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    #10
    Got it back Friday.. they replaced HDD, RAM, Logic board, hard drive cables.. so I basically have a new 2012 Macbook now!

    In spite of them replacing all of that stuff I think it was the RAM - that was the one thing I didn't think to swap out because the RAM I upgraded it with was new and the hardware test results (which apparently are to be taken with a grain of salt) said it was fine. Just as an experiment I put it back in when I got it back and was putting everything else in and sure enough it was back to its old habits. Put the RAM that they replaced it with back in and the sleep issue disappeared.

    This turned out to be a major Ebay score - bought it at a great price from an electronics store on Ebay that refurbs/flips tons of Macs and there was no mention of it still being covered under AppleCare.. I looked the serial up and it's covered until October. The tech gods were looking out for me on this one!
     

Share This Page