Where to put applications that don't have installer?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by barduck, Nov 10, 2010.

1. barduck macrumors newbie

Hi all,

I am new to the Mac so I apologize if this question seems silly or out of context in the OS X world.

I am trying to figure out how and where to put applications that don't come with an installer. For example, applications that come as a bunch of zipped files/folders or Java applications that come as a .jar file.

I assume they go into the /Applications folder but then they just lay there without an icon or a simple way to run them. Should I put them somewhere else and create a symlink/alias/whatever in the the application folder? What's the proper Mac way to do this?

Another example is "mono" application (KeePass). It comes as a bunch of files and I can run it just fine from the terminal with "mono KeyPass.exe" but where should I put this entire folder and how do I create a shortcut/alias for it to easily run it from the applications folder or spotlight?

thanks!

2. SandboxGeneral Moderator

SandboxGeneral

Staff Member

Put them in the Applications folder and then run them from there. Once it shows up in the Dock, you can click and hold on the icon to choose to "Keep in Dock." You can also use Spotlight in the upper right corner to locate apps you want to run.

3. Gregg2 macrumors 603

What? Not sure what that means.

Are you dealing exclusively with Windows compatible applications in this thread?

4. barduck thread starter macrumors newbie

I mean, that when I install an application with a dedicated installer, in the /Application folder I get an icon and the name of the application which I can invoke with one click. If I just dump a folder there, I need to go through extra steps to invoke the application (go inside the folder and run whatever executable that runs the app) and there is no Icon I can easily recognize from looking at the application folder.