Where to set GPRS/EDGE settings?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by maximus06, Aug 21, 2008.

  1. maximus06 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    #1
    A dumb question, but I can't find where to set the GPRS or EDGE settings to use mobile internet (server, user, password etc. provided by your wireless provider).

    I looked under setting -> general -> network, but that only had wi-fi and VPN. Uhm am I missing something here?

    Thanks.

    EDIT: this is the original iphone, os 2.0.1
     
  2. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #2
    If you're using a SIM card from an approved carrier these settings are hidden.
     
  3. maximus06 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    #3
    My carrier is not "approved" I don't think. I'm using the original iphone, unlocked, in Canada (it wasn't even sold here).

    So...?
     
  4. maximus06 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    #4
    No replies? How is anyone using their wireless internet on unlocked phones, without setting the GPRS settings?
     
  5. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #5
    So the phone is jailbroken? What provider are you using?
     
  6. maximus06 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    #6
    It is jailbroken & unlocked. Using Rogers Wireless (Canada).
     
  7. Whorehay macrumors 6502a

    Whorehay

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    #7
    Settings -> General -> Network -> Cellular Data Network
     
  8. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #8
    Which doesn't appear if you're using what is now an approved carrier.

    You can edit the plist in your carrier's preference bundle if you SSH into the phone. The correct path is

    Find your carrier, go into the bundle and download the Carrier.plist file. Edit it so that it reads

    At the beginning. The bold part is what you need to add in.

    Hopefully this works.
     
  9. maximus06 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    #9
    Thanks for the reply! I did what you said, but the carrier.plist file contains a bunch of gibberish (as well as readable text). So I don't think pasting that in would work.

    Found a great tutorial on how to enable EDGE settings here: http://news.metaparadigma.de/?p=29

    Thanks a lot for bringing me onto the right track :p
     

Share This Page