Where to start for a TOTAL newbee. HTML5?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by blinkie, Aug 11, 2011.

1. blinkie macrumors regular

Sep 7, 2007
    I'm keen to write my own webpage. But I've never done anything like it before. It's seems like a good opportunity to learn some code. Am I wise to want to jump in at HTML5? I basically want to produce a simple(?) page with some images, garish design, and some imbedding. I'd really appreciate it if someone could point me in the right way. Somewhere to start and learn.
    Thanks in advance,
  2. 7on macrumors 601

Nov 9, 2003
    Dress Rosa
    <!DOCTYPE html>
    Congrats! You've learned HTML5!

Though in honesty, the absolute best way is view the source on sites and try to mimic them. And stay away from W3Schools.

Writing webpages are more or less trial and error until you build up a knowledge of browser bugs (like IE7's z-index issue).

Also as long as you remember <meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=8"> you'll never need to mess with box model issues.
  3. blinkie thread starter macrumors regular

Sep 7, 2007
    Thanks 7on.
    I spoke to a clever friend about this a few hours ago. He said he'd put together a simple page with notations to learn from. That seems like a pretty good way forward to me. He suggested I start with TextWrangler.
    Thanks again.
    p.s. what's up with w3schools?
  4. Darth.Titan, Aug 11, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2011

Darth.Titan macrumors 68030

Oct 31, 2007
    Austin, TX
    I'll answer for 7on because I was confused when I read his comment as well. You see, "back in the day" my instructors were always very keen on W3Schools and I've recommended them myself in the past.

However after doing a bit of searching on the subject I came across this site and I was amazed with the indisputable complaints they make against W3Schools. It might be a bit over your head as a beginner, but it boils down to this:

To quote the site I linked: