Where's Genius (2.1)

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by MBX, Sep 12, 2008.

  1. MBX macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #1
    Just installed the update but the Genius function is nowhere to be found on the iphone. I tap on the song or album art to get the track progress hud but there's no Genius icon either.

    ???
     
  2. FarSeide macrumors 6502a

    FarSeide

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Earth Lane
  3. tyr2 macrumors 6502a

    tyr2

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #3
    Sync your phone again, it'll probably show up then.
     
  4. MBX thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #5
    it's not in playlist either but i'm syncing now in hope it's going to show up.

    But why not the first time? Is that intended by Apple?
     
  5. MBX thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #6
    Umm ok it's on there now. Strange you have to sync it two times to get it on.
     
  6. bmms8 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    #7
    someone stated that the genius must be turned on in iTunes before syncing. Good luck.
     
  7. Anuba macrumors 68040

    Anuba

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    #8
    Same here. It showed up immediately on my iPod Touch, but there's no genius entry under the iPhone playlists.

    Tried syncing but that didn't help.

    So far this doesn't feel anywhere near as good as 2.1 on iPod Touch. Graphics are as sluggish as in 2.0.X. I wonder if they managed to screw up 2.1 between Tuesday and Friday.

    (Edit: Still no Genius after 3 sync attempts).
     
  8. Anuba macrumors 68040

    Anuba

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    #9
    Argh! Genius simply refuses to show up. WTF?

    It's enabled in iTunes. It showed up on my iPod Touch immediately without any tinkering. I've synchronized and rebooted umpteen times now. Nothing.
     
  9. Eso macrumors 68000

    Eso

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
  10. Anuba macrumors 68040

    Anuba

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    #11
    Yep, that was it. Manual management of music and videos isn't allowed if you want Genius to work, you need music sync enabled.
     
  11. *GG* macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Location:
    Scotland
    #12
    It didn't show up for me either to start with. But after a couple of syncs it is there now.
     
  12. BaldyUK macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
  13. Iggy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Location:
    Bournemouth, UK
    #14
    Same her! 3 sync's, 3 restarts and no genius. I can't shake to shuffle either. I got Genius turned on in iTunes.

    edit: her? I mean here.
     
  14. wildcardd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #15
    Shake shuffle is "Nano only" I believe.
     
  15. Iggy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Location:
    Bournemouth, UK
    #16
    Poo
     
  16. mdindin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    #17
    Oh no... How to activate the genius playlist? I tried to go itunes store but i says that it is not supported in my country.

    Im from Singapore btw...
     
  17. Iggy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Location:
    Bournemouth, UK
    #18
    I did a full restore. What a stupid idea. Oh well, I now have Genius malarchy.
     
  18. Anuba macrumors 68040

    Anuba

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    #19
    Make sure you don't have "manually manage music and videos" checked. Technically this shouldn't matter to Genius (it's the same damn music files whether I sync automatically or not), but it does... I tried like a dozen sync's but it never worked until I enabled autosync of music.
     
  19. Apple Ink macrumors 68000

    Apple Ink

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #20
    Thats the Genius sidebar..... a replacement for the ministore!

    In iTunes.... Select the Genius Playlist under Playlist and set it up! You'll need an iTunes account!
     
  20. BaldyUK macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    #21
    Thanks! That sorted it :D
     
  21. FJR macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #22
    the way that updates are done on the iPhone, it doesn't do anything with your music. So you have to sync again for it to pull the genius info from iTunes (genius doesn't work by magic, there are hidden files that figure out how to make the playlists, those files have to be synced.) I am sure there was probably a better way to to do this on apple's end, but whatever.

    edit: that's also why you have to turn off manually manage music, because your iPhone won't pull the genius files unless you do that.
     

Share This Page