Where's my $1600 best spent?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by stevo8, Mar 10, 2009.

1. stevo8 macrumors 6502

So I have a birthday around the corner and will be picking up a iMac thanks to some help from my family. :) Im just up in the air on what would fit my personal needs best. I have a budget of about $1600(am a student so take into account the discount). As of right now I'm on a old core duo MBP 2.0GHz 2g ram, and it just doesn't cut it anymore. I'm a photographer and my workflow consists of editing on a 22" monitor in Lightroom and then Photoshop while I watch movies or previously loaded tv shows on the 15" MBP monitor. I don't have a TV in my room so it regularly doubles as my tv/radio.

So with that said, I'm looking at picking up either the old 24" 2.8GHz for $1299, or the new 24" 2.66GHz for $1399. If I was to get the 2.8 I would also pick up some crucial ram(not sure the price but I'm assuming sub $200?) and then most likely be done with it(until snow lep arrives). I'm sure that setup would work just fine for me for some time, but I'm wondering if I would be better off with the 2.66GHz as it has faster ram(also could eventually go to 8gigs) and it's only a $100 more.. I would just hate to get the 2.8 and then when SL comes have any issues and not be able to throw more ram at it... If that would even help. Another concern(although small) is hd space. So for $100 I get double the space and double the ram at the small cost of the processor speed. So for extensive photo processing, which is better? Faster and more ram, or faster processor and a dedicated graphics card?

2. Scottsdale macrumors 601

Scottsdale

Definitely the "OLD" model that has dedicated graphics and the same beautiful display. The only thing is in the long run, upgrading to 8 GB RAM (as capable on new iMacs) could make it last an extra year or two... especially toward end of its life when it's like $100 to upgrade to 8 GB RAM.