Where's my Bong at?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by quigleybc, Apr 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. quigleybc macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #1
    When I restart my PowerMac G5 these days, it doesn't do the "BONG" sound anymore....

    I'm curious as to why that might be...?
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
  3. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #3
    I agree. You have really let us down.
     
  4. quigleybc thread starter macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
  5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    They say the memory is the first thing to go...
     
  6. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #6
    It only bongs as loud as you had the system volume set to before you rebooted, right?
     
  7. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #7
    We hate to disappoint. :)

    However, you might try installing something like this:

    http://www5e.biglobe.ne.jp/~arcana/StartupSound/index.en.html

    And using it to reset the volume to a desired level, and see if that fixes it? Might as well get the extra functionality of being able to control it, while you're at it. :)
     
  8. 4JNA macrumors 68000

    4JNA

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    looking for trash files
    #8
    sweet. what's mine say? dude!

    and then i was like WHOA, and he was like whoa, and then i was like whoooa, dude!

    this wins the 'best title of the day' award. totally.
     
  9. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #9
    [​IMG]

    You just became my hero. :)
     
  10. Fearless Leader macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Location:
    Hoosiertown
    #10
    i keep mine in the attic, try there if not its one of my friend's houses.
     
  11. quigleybc thread starter macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #11
    If that's true then I have nothing to worry about. I'll need to go restart again to test this theory.

    *restarts
     
  12. hessdesigns macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #12
    If you can't remember, maybe it's time to cut back a tad... :D
     
  13. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
  14. elbirth macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Location:
    North Carolina, US
    #15
    that's a might long reboot! it's been going since April 30....


    anyway, did that fix it? The volume setting was going to be what I suggested, as I've noticed that my MacBook Pro doesn't do the startup chime anymore since I almost always keep its volume muted. I love how it keeps 2 volume settings- 1 for when it's using the internal speakers and 1 when it has headphone/speakers attached.
     
  15. mustang_dvs macrumors 6502a

    mustang_dvs

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    #16
    You probably just need to re-lubricate the internal speaker -- just pour about a quart of speaker fluid in through the vents on the top of the case. If you're out of speaker fluid, distilled tap water will work in a pinch -- so long as the computer is plugged-in and running.

    Any reputable computer store will stock speaker fluid -- if they don't have any, or claim that it doesn't exist, leave the store immediately and call your local better business bureau.

    --



    Obviously, don't pour liquids into your computer.

    I would guess that your USB speakers came unplugged, since your Cube lacks an internal speaker.
     
  16. statikcat macrumors 6502

    statikcat

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #17
    If you are doing audio work you probably have a firewire or pci soundcard for your audio. So if your internal audio was turned down you would not notice. So when you reboot you hear nothing but when osx loads you hear aduio through your other/main audio device.
     
  17. MonkeyClaw macrumors regular

    MonkeyClaw

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #18
    Amen to that... Glad to see I'm not the only Mac using pot head :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page