Wheres the Thunderbolt display!

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by jakesaunders27, Oct 16, 2014.

  1. jakesaunders27 macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
  2. realph macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #2
    Really wished I hadn't splashed out on the nMP and picked up a Retina iMac instead. Apple really knows how to annoy.

    You've got the display sorted, just give us a Thunderbolt refresh to keep both sides happy.
     
  3. cpnotebook80 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #3
    I agree that sucks. :(
    Even a 4k could suffice. Would they do a silent refresh?
     
  4. jakesaunders27 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    I just don't get why they don't release one? They have a full computer in a thinner body than the current TBD with a higher resolution display, is it really that hard to just take the computer out?
     
  5. Tobias Funke macrumors 6502a

    Tobias Funke

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    #5
    Even just a silent upgrade to better ports would suffice!
     
  6. jakesaunders27 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    I know it still has a MagSafe 1 connector on!!! Do they even sell a laptop with that LOL :)
     
  7. MattZani macrumors 68030

    MattZani

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
  8. thedeske macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    #8
    Interesting to say the least - New Mini with TB2 and yet, the display option in the store is an Antique with USB2 and Firewire! The new Mini doesn't even have firewire this time.

    Of course, if you top out an i7 Mini and buy a TB monitor, you're still well under the cost of a 27 iMac with equal power, so there's that. Still .... ?
     
  9. chfilm macrumors 68000

    chfilm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
  10. gugy macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    La Jolla, CA
    #10
    I agreed that is very strange the lack of TB display update.
    Apple could be selling tons of 5k for Pro users using their MacPro's. This one is a head scratcher.

    The funny thing they use a professional photographer of that caliber using an iMac. While I understand the marketing implications, most guy like that have a MacPro.

    Well, I guess we have to wait. :(
     
  11. Traverse macrumors 604

    Traverse

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Location:
    Here
    #11
    I just wanted a 4K 24" display for my 2013 rMBP! Only the Mac Pro and the new iMac can drive 5K I think.

    I'm bitterly disappointed!
     
  12. awests macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #12
    The biggest issue is that Thunderbolt 2 can't drive a 5K display with only 1 cable, it needs two. Thunderbolt 3/DisplayPort 1.3 will be able to drive a 5K display with only 1 cable. Apple will probably announce a new thunderbolt display alongside TB 3.
     
  13. chfilm macrumors 68000

    chfilm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #13
    If they really do that I won't be the only customer who's super mad because we just bought a brand new mac pro which can't connect to a proper apple hires display.
     
  14. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #14
    seriously considering Retina iMac plus iPad Air 2. With a good solution for viewing/culling/storing raw camera files during field trips, I can drop the use of an rMBP.
     
  15. mtmac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    #15
    The display always lags the iMac update. Surely they will finally upgrade this product once 5k iMac demand dies down. They've waited so long and now every component of the TBD is outdated- the case, every port, screen matting, and screen resolution. Since so many won't be able to take advantage of 5k, I would think they would produce a standard resolution version with the newer ports along with a 5k version. They could've done the cheaper version a long time ago, but I guess it's better late than ever.

    I bought a new pixel perfect WQHD PLS 27" monitor for $300 with PIP, 2 hdmi, and display port in and out after waiting years for a new TBD. The standard resolution monitor from Apple will likely be way overpriced for what it is. When they first came out they were a great deal, but with quality monitor prices tanking, there's no compelling reason to pay more than triple for the Apple product. The 5k will likely be reasonable for what it is now, but with time will become overpriced as well. I don't get mad at initial Apple prices, but when they continue to sell outdated products at the same price as when they were cutting edge really gets me. $1000 for a display that every component is outdated, some components for years?
     
  16. gugy macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    La Jolla, CA
    #16
    Yeah makes sense.
    The bummer part is that my 2011 MP won't be able to handle that display. So I guess this might force me into the nMP way sooner than later. Apple will be happy taking my $ again.:rolleyes:
     
  17. Braniff747SP macrumors 6502

    Braniff747SP

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    #17
    It's been mentioned several times around here that it looks as if Apple will have trouble procuring enough panels for the iMac in the first several months. Makes sense for them to fend off a TD display revamp in favor of securing their supply chain for iMac.
     
  18. awests macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #18
    I can certainly see where you are coming from, but is 4K not enough?
     
  19. Nugget macrumors 68000

    Nugget

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Houston Texas USA
    #19
    If 5K exists then 4K is not enough. QED. :)
     
  20. MattZani macrumors 68030

    MattZani

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #20
    The entire reason of 5k is so that you can view a 4k video with timelines, it's directly targeted at the video market.
     
  21. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #21
    Apple isn't going to release a Thunderbolt Retina Display that needs two display cables. They'd rather wait until Thunderbolt 3 allows for that amount of data to go down one cable. Unfortunately for us, although DisplayPort 1.3 was just released, Apple doesn't incorporate new standards in DisplayPort until the Thunderbolt equivalent is released which in the case of Thunderbolt 3 is expected mid/late 2015. This is the same reason why Apple have removed Target Display Mode from the retina iMac. It's going to be a while folks.

    Personally, I'd rather have a 40" 5K display though anyway.
     
  22. awests macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #22
    But how will you view your 5K timelines?! :rolleyes:
     
  23. Outrigger macrumors 68000

    Outrigger

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #23
    what computer would you use to drive it?
     
  24. mike3015 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #24
    I'll never understand Apple logic. They're selling a product with Magsafe 1 and USB 2.0 without any kind of a hint as to when they'll produce an updated version. When something gets this out of date, they owe the apple community an explanation of their plan.

    Just say we're getting out of the display business or we have something in the works for sometime in....

    I love my rMBP but with the outdated TB display is almost embarrassing. Apple has dropped the ball on this one and is driving customers away.

    Mike
     
  25. CWallace macrumors 603

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #25
    Please see http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1803275 as to why there is no 5K Thunderbolt Display now and why there will not be until Intel ships Skylake and Apple adds it to the Mac line.

    Essentially, no current Mac can drive a 5K display (due to ThunderBolt 2/DisplayPort 1.2) and TB3/DP1.3 will not arrive until Skylake does.
     

Share This Page