Whether to buy second hand or wait - cMBP

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Usernameisvalid, Aug 8, 2013.

1. Usernameisvalid macrumors newbie

Hi,

I found a 13" 2012 Macbook pro for sale. The guy wants $800 for it. It is an i7 with 8GB ram and 750GB HDD to the standard non-retina model. I was wondering whether it was wise to buy now upgrade the HDD (Maybe to this one: http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-830-Series-MZ-7PC256N-Internal/dp/B005T3GPXY) or wait for a MacBook Pro with Haswell and possibly even retina. I am a student so my needs are not too intensive and I do not need the latest and greatest. Also I am migrating to Apple so I want to make the switch as cost efficient and future proof as possible. I plan to run it with a larger moniter at home (possibly this one:http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...tiveASIN=B00AAZ470Y&linkCode=as2&tag=su0ab-20).

Any advice on time to buy/upgrades to make/things for a migration into the apple ecosystem are more than welcome.

Thanks!

2. 007bond macrumors 6502a

007bond

Since you're a student, I would seriously consider waiting for a Haswell rMBP (or going with the Haswell MBA). The battery life difference is huge. That being said, if you're not going to be using your computer on-campus (or anywhere but your desk), I would go for the model that you mentioned.

3. Usernameisvalid thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks 007bond

I wouldn't use it much away from the desk buy I am looking for something that will last. Is only battery life that Haswell brings?

4. 007bond macrumors 6502a

007bond

I know that on the MBA there was a very, very slight performance dip (I believe the AnandTech Review mentioned that, though I could be wrong). Power consumption would be less, I guess. You may see performance upgrades on the cMBP. That being said, if you're looking for a good machine on a budget, go for the one you mentioned.

5. Usernameisvalid thread starter macrumors newbie