WHF? Why is iTunes asking me to set up a new iPhone?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by dmk1974, Sep 29, 2010.

  1. dmk1974 macrumors 68000

    dmk1974

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #1
    So all of the sudden, when I plug my iPhone 4 into my PC, iTunes prompts me to either set it up as a new iPhone or restore from a backup (which I haven't done for a week or so). What the heck? The phone isn't in any kind of DFU mode or anything (it's working perfectly normal and without issues).

    I don't want to have to restore it to some old backup and lose stuff from the phone. There's no option for me to back it up or sync it. Anyone else ever have an issue like this?
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    I noticed that a few times also.
    Its gotta be a bug or sowething with itunes.
    I selected restore from backup but it didint really go far after that, it just let me use it as normal right after that selection.
     
  3. crazytiger86 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
  4. mixedONE macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #4
    Its happened to me 4 times. Annoying as hell.
     
  5. iLLBehavior macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    #5
    It happened to me just recently, im on Itunes 9 something and ios 4.0.1
    I ended up doing a Backup.

    I don't what the dealio is either. Only has happened to me once, this last weekend.
     
  6. dmk1974 thread starter macrumors 68000

    dmk1974

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #6
    LOL...my bad. Thought I typed WTF.
     
  7. dmk1974 thread starter macrumors 68000

    dmk1974

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #7
    Well, I did run the 15 minute restore to the last backup and at least it seems to be working now without issue. Haven't noticed anything lost from my phone fortunately. Just never had that problem with any of my iPhones over the past 3 yerars.
     

Share This Page