Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

04grahama

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 24, 2011
I am a first year uni student with a 5 year old laptop which is rubbish. I want to get a MacBook pro but which one ?

I will be using it for everything. work inciding auto CAD, Internet, gameing, watching HD films. I will also be plugging it into a external monitor with wireless keyboard and mouse.

This will be my first mac. Iam thinking the late 2011 base model 15" with 2.2ghz quad core i7, 512 graphics but with the optional upgrades to a 750gb @7200 rpm hard drive and the high res screen.

Is 2.2ghz enough? Is 512mb graphics enough ? Or should I get the high end 15" mac with 2.4ghz and 1gb of graphics ?

thekev

macrumors 604
Aug 5, 2010
Macs and laptops in general can be a bit of a stretch for heavy cad work, but it depends how complex you get. The program could definitely benefit from a superior graphics card, but I don't know if you'll see the difference between macbook pro models in that regard. The 2.2 is fine. You wouldn't notice the difference between 2.2 and 2.4. They all have turboboost, and in the end the base clock speeds listed don't seem to mean much. If they get too hot either one will have to throttle down. I know the macbook pros with integrated graphics are pretty weak with gaming. With the high res or external display that would be even worse.

http://barefeats.com/mbps01.html

I don't know much about their testing method for gaming, but that is one comparison. The slower 2011 model is using integrated graphics.

http://barefeats.com/mbps04.html

There's another. Since that test the base clocks were bumped from 2.0 and 2.3 in that test to 2.2 and 2.5 (cto) today. Apple is using a gimped version of the 6750m for some reason. The PC version has 1GB of vram just like the other, and shows much less difference than is suggested in that link.

http://barefeats.com/mbps03.html