Which 2012 model to get?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by hajime, Jul 7, 2012.

1. hajime, Jul 7, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2012

hajime macrumors 68030

Hello, I have been using the 17" MBPs for many years. I want to get a lighter computer. I am trying to decide between the 2012 15" MBP and the 15" MBP Retina Display. What suggestions do you have?

The Retina Display model seems to be lighter but I do not know if I can stand the reflexive screen. A very short period of use at the Apple Store did not cause any eye strain problem. I am a programmer and I spend many hours each day on the computer reading, writing and programming. All my MBPs have matte screen. I don't play games but I do 3D animations and simulations. Do these two models generate the same amount of heat and noise?

Also, what are the problems with these two latest models? I heard of ghosting problem with the Retina Display model. Thanks.

2. KPOM macrumors G5

The screen on the rMPB is similar to that of the Air (apart from the higher resolution). While it isn't a matte display, it is far less reflective than the standard MacBook Pro display since there is no glass cover.

I have used an Air for over 4 years, and am rarely bothered by reflection. Sure, in direct sunlight it can get annoying, but I use it on planes all the time without a problem.

Ghosting on the rMPB seems to be an isolated issue.

3. hajime thread starter macrumors 68030

According to engadget, "Right now, seemingly every third-party app on the Mac looks terrible."

http://www.engadget.com/2012/06/13/apple-macbook-pro-with-retina-display-review/

It has been a few weeks since the article was published. Is the situation still the same? If I connect the rMBP to a third party external monitor, I will not have such problem at least on the external display. Am I right?

4. TLewis macrumors 65816

This is all a matter of your personal preferences, not ours.

That said, I'll start by stating the obvious: