Which 2014 15 inch retina macbook pro to buy?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by gonzal, Aug 6, 2014.

1. gonzal macrumors newbie

Hi guys,

I decided that I would like to buy the new 2014 rmbp 15in screen. I definitely want the 15in for the size. My problem is if I should get the one with or without dedicated graphics card?

I am a college student and a biology major with a focus on moleculer and cellular biology and genetics.
    I would use it for...
    school work…
    reading
    internet
    movies/streaming video
    documents/presentations
    music
    the occasional game such as Civ 5 and stuff like it. Not hardcore games

So is it worth getting the dedicated graphics card? I would like the computer to last for 4 or more years. Is it worth getting the best one so it will last longer/ will having the the graphics card make the computer last longer? My thinking is since I'm going to spend $2,000 why not spend the extra $300 to get the top of line computer with the thought that it will last longer (is that even true?)

Thanks!

2. TechZeke macrumors 68020

TechZeke

Really, you could get by with a base MacBook Air. Even the base 15" would be HUGE overkill already.

3. capathy21 macrumors 65816

capathy21

Agreed.

If you have to go 15, get the base model 15. Better yet, get a 2013 refurb and save some serious coin.

4. Neykon macrumors member

You could consider what I did since I needed a new laptop for my bachelor which starts this month: I went ahead and bought the 2013-generation Retina, 15" (which was the newest one until a week ago) and saved a fair share compared to the newest generation.