Which 24" imac?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by mpeacock, Jun 3, 2009.

1. mpeacock macrumors newbie

So I'm an architecture student and I'm going to buy a new iMac as soon as apple announces the release date for snow leopard, so hopefully late this month. I've already decided to buy a 24", but I'm wondering if I should buy the 2.66 gHz or the 2.93 gHz one. I don't know if it will make a difference in 3d modeling programs like revit & sketchup or even illustrator & indesign. because aside from just the processor speed, the only other difference is the graphics card. is it really a $300 difference?

2. rgarjr macrumors 603

rgarjr

Get the 2.93 with the 4850 graphics card. I also like playing with ACAD and 3ds Max and want to get an iMac. Although I'm not sure if the 4850 is mainly for gaming or also handles well with 3D apps.

3. Le Big Mac macrumors 68020

Le Big Mac

Wouldn't you want to wait until the date SL actually ships?

4. MTI macrumors 65816

On the other hand, $300 could get you upgrades that can make the "lesser" processor machine more useful. Consider that, unless you have the faster processor sitting on the desk right next to you, how will you ever notice the minute difference in rendering speed? ;)

5. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

9400M is intergraded crap so if you have to do GPU intensive tasks or get more advantage of Snow Leopard $300 is worth it. If money isn't a bottleneck for you, get the ATI 4850.

6. mpeacock thread starter macrumors newbie

i talked to a mac rep at my local store & he told me that if you buy a mac after apple has announced the release date for their new OS, then you can get them to send you the new OS for free anyway. I don't know if this will work for sure.

7. Corrosive vinyl macrumors 6502

Corrosive vinyl

I don't know about when snow leopard will be available, but after WWDC there might be small speed bumps in processors and other things which would be good to take advantage of.