Which app to use for clone hard disk?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by spoon72, Feb 11, 2012.

  1. spoon72 macrumors regular

    spoon72

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    singapore
    #1
    I have both the Carbon copy cloner and data rescuse 3 ,between them which one should i use to clone my iMac primary hard disk and why? I'l be buying a ext disk to clone so that if my primary hard disk fail then when i get new one will just clone it back from where i left.
     
  2. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #2
    CarbonCopyCloner is true "cloning software".

    DataRescue3 is "file recovery" software.

    CCC is what you want to create and manage a "clone".

    Keep DR3 around for "disk disasters"....
     
  3. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #3
    I use SuperDuper, similar to CCC.

    I use it to create bootable backups. It has the ability to do smart copy, replacing only what has changed.
     
  4. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
  5. spoon72 thread starter macrumors regular

    spoon72

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    singapore
  6. panzer06 macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #6
    Another vote for SuperDuper. Use it all the time!

    Cheers,
     
  7. AppleNewton macrumors 68000

    AppleNewton

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    1 Finite Place
    #7
    in addition to the suggestions, Disk Utility is also a great way to make 1:1 clones
     
  8. ToaDA macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #8
    I've used CCC for heaps of clones, including bootable clones, and it's worked faultlessly every time. Highly recommended :)
     
  9. yashi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    #9
    Used CCC to transfer my MBP install to an external drive with SSD, then swapped the SSD in the computer. No issues whatsoever.
     
  10. spoon72 thread starter macrumors regular

    spoon72

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    singapore
    #10
    do you guys prefer to clone a bootable hard disk from the original or use the time machine because it contain up to date data?
     
  11. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #11
    Different people like different things. And some people keep a clone and use Time Machine as well.

    It's good to have a backup of your computer that is not attached to the computer for the rare issue that could affect all the disks on the computer. This includes things like power issues, but then again you do have your computer on a decent UPS right? Or you could run in the also rare case of two disks failing at the same time.

    I have a backup on the shelf and Time Machine.
     
  12. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #12
    I had an issue with kernel panics a few months back where the machine ran fine for months and months, then one day the KPs started....wouldn't even boot except for safe mode.

    Tried using Time Machine to go back a day, a week, a month and whatever it was still KP'd the machine.

    Finally pulled my CCC clone off the shelf and booted fine with it...then cloned it back to the internal drive.....restored data from my TM backup and was back in business.
     
  13. spoon72 thread starter macrumors regular

    spoon72

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    singapore
    #13
    Yes double protection ,thanks for sharing.
     
  14. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #14
    You can create a bootable clone with Carbon Copy Cloner, then keep that clone up to date with manual or automatic scheduled incremental backups.
     
  15. spoon72, Mar 2, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2012

    spoon72 thread starter macrumors regular

    spoon72

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    singapore
    #15
    what / which setting should i set or choose to update only?
     
  16. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #16
    After the initial clone backup, select "Incremental backup of selected items" for all subsequent backups.

    [​IMG]
     
  17. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #17
    I would recommend Disk Utility for this, and as others have said Super Duper and CCC? If you own the software Mac TuneUp it can create bootable backups.
     
  18. Mr. McMac Suspended

    Mr. McMac

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Location:
    Far away from liberals
    #18
    I used Carbon Copy Cloner when I upgraded the hard drive in my mini. Worked flawlessly..
     
  19. spoon72 thread starter macrumors regular

    spoon72

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    singapore
    #19
    I don't see this bzvol on the left side and definetly didn't see the increment backup ,
     

    Attached Files:

  20. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #20
    Forget the "bzvol" on the left side. That just happened to be in the screen shot that I found. On the right side on yours, it shows "My custom settings 1" because the default settings have been modified. However, your custom settings show the following:
    This means it's an incremental backup. It doesn't backup everything again; it only backs up what has changed since the last backup.
     

Share This Page